St Patricks Day - Visitors 8 9 10 11


Advertisement
Denmark's flag
Europe » Denmark » Region Hovedstaden » Copenhagen
March 20th 2006
Published: December 13th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 55.6763, 12.5681

I have zero voice at the moment as we has 4 people over the weekend (AnS and JnH) & ended up having a mad one.

I hate St .Parick's day in Dublin - it's really awful, every knacker is out & there's always a very mean atmosphere plus every bloody street is blocked off for the parade from 3am the night before so if you have no interest in the parade want to go somewhere (like to Connolly Station to go to Sligo say!) you cannot. I am not joking the logistics are crap. The year we had no parade (or St Patricks festival as its now called) due to foot & mouth I was delighted.

So anyway I am always very bah humbug about it all but have to admit anytime I am abroad I have a good laugh - have been in Australia twice for it. So I was still all bah humbug on Friday & I was at work as normal while C. was entertaining the visitors. However come midnight (I think) after drinks at home, dinner & drinks out & more drinks after I found I was bloody Irish dancing in an Irish pub here (another thing I usually avoid abroad but we have going to see Liverpool play there for the last 5 months so C. & the Irish head bar man have got friendly), I was obviously singing, talking & smoking like hell & was all set to ask the band to play the National Anthem but I couldn't get to them as it was so crowded however like a good Irish band they did it anyway so I am so glad I wasn't drunkenly ranting at them.

Very embarrassed the next day - I might add I only had about 2 Irish dancing lessons when I was 6 & don't actually remember how & was never very good but apparently I looked very convincing though! Danes were all standing around looking at me to see how it's done, oh my God thank God no one had a video recorder. And then I proceeded to do it all again (minus the Irish dancing) on Sat night & now I have no voice at all! Bizarrely no-one in work thinks I have the flu they telepathically seem to know its self induced. And you should have heard me on Friday in work saying how boring it was for Irish to get drunk on 17th March! So anyway it was a good laugh.

Egypt got cancelled as all unnecessary travel to muslim countries from Denmark was canned (cartoon controversy) so now we are going to Goa instead, whoo hoo. Very happy about that as thats what I wanted to do in the 1st place but we thought it'd be too far for a week with 2 days travelling in that but it turns out you need 10 days off as you have 8 days there & then the 2 days travelling either side so thats ok now.

But the week it was cancelled was the worst week I've had in along time, work was crazy 12 hour days so I was exhausted. Mind you it still is 11 hour days but you get used to it. And I was trying to buy a laptop from dell.dk (so I can do support from home) but they don't take international credits cards! So that was another saga with trying to transfer money to them - the they lost the money for a week, b'tards. Then work gave me a phone but it seized up so I couldn't even turn it off to re set it! Let's see what else, then I shrunk a span new cardi (100eur worth) on 1st wash. That was the week leading into the weekend we were going to Dublin so then I was asked to cancel trip 10 mins b4 I left on the Friday but I said no, how the plane didn't crash I dunno, but then we discovered a leak under the floor in the house in Dublin, brilliant.

Anyway it all turned out ok but it's not week I'd like to repeat.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.283s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0541s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb