July 5th - lots of time on train before being ogled by strange men.


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague
July 17th 2012
Published: July 17th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Incoming Prague attackIncoming Prague attackIncoming Prague attack

fight Prague with new dentalo toothpaste!
July 5th: That snoring gu... I swear, I was ready to smother him with a pillow and no jury in the land would convict me... mind you, for all I know, the sentence for pillow-wielding killers in Poland could be death by excessive salt consumption so I should be careful.

Oh well on to Prague now, so unless he follows me I'm free of him.

I realise that I've not kept a close enough eye on the laundry situation and have run out, I'm travelling in recycled socks and underwear... nobody sees to have noticed yet.

After a brief confusion I'm on the right train, so they're still doing better than planes in my opinion.

I begin to think that ALL of UK/Europe is under construction, many of the places I've visited have had fairly major roadworks going on and Katowice train station looks like it's being taken apart (hopefully with the intention of putting it back together again)!
There is a nice feeling of calm to be had when you're sitting on the train and knowing that you're on the right train and you don't have to carry your bag for a bit!
A lot of dreary grey apartent buildings in Katowice but a lot of them have awesome murals that I was too slow with the camera to catch. Some of them even have big Banksy style stencils on them.

Well as much as the Polish (lots of thick woodlands) and Czech (kind of mildly hilly and bushy) landscapes are lovely, I think in future if I were to do the trip again I'd take a night train because that was a LONG trip.
Prague is beautiful but so far I've only seen it from inside; first the train and then (because for once I couldn't find a hostel near the station) from a taxi, and now it's one of those crazy European "it's so hot that the weather just HAS to explode into thunder and lightning" rainstorms so I'm trapped inside and can't go explore. Not too fussed on Prague thus far, probably just cranky after all my travelling but it just has an 'off' vibe at the moment.... that, and the place is teeming with lots of young dumbfucks who are mostly concerned with how cheap the beer is.

- NOTE TO SELF -

Don't take a brief lull in rain as a sign that it's okay to go for a walk. As you wander around, realising how lost you are, that your map is slowly disintergrating from the wetness and that strange men are watching you with slightly disconcerting leers on their faces... you will regret it.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.177s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1085s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 3; ; mem: 1.2mb