Czech it out!!


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague
July 8th 2006
Published: July 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

That's right, I said it: "Czech it out". So I'm in Prague. Good times. We got here on the third and are leaving on the 9th at around noon. Prague is obviously very beautiful (for pictures czech (lol) out Jeff's travel blog: http://www.travelblog.org/Bloggers/SlavicNerd/). However, we've found that there isn't actually as much to do here as we thought there would be. Today we went to the bone church at Kutna Hora, which was pretty amazing. We've also seen Prague Castle, the St. Charles Bridge, Wenceslas Square, the Museum of Communism, and we've just wandered around and soaked in the city. I must say though, that my heart lies in Poland. Thus far anyway.

And I will be getting a Polish eagle tattooed on my back left shoulder-blade. (Mom, don't get mad over this. I won't be doing it until I get back home anyway, so if you really want to convince me not to, just wait until I get back. Plus, it's our HERITAGE! Hahaha.) I never really had much pride about being Polish, but after having explored on my own and being forced to use my Polish as best I could, I think I'm much more open to accepting and further-embracing my roots. And I definitely feel more in-tune with myself in that respect. It's sort of strange to finally want to learn something that I spent my whole childhood and teenaged years despising and distancing myself from. But it's also a cool feeling, and I only see it growing in the future.

So that's pretty much it. Off to Budapest on the 9th and maybe I'll write more from there.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0223s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb