Afghan Dinner


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague
May 17th 2006
Published: May 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So today we had classes until 2:30. Then I came home and went to the grocery store nearby. I actually got to use some czech today. I had to get the lady's attention, then reach up to the top shelf and bring down the bottled water that I like, and then tell her that I wanted one. I was pretty proud of myself since I was able to convey this all using my czech instead of pointing and waving. We had a dinner with Samir today and he showed us an Afghani restaurant. Everyone was a little sceptical about this but the food turned out to be really really good. I loved it! I had pindia, I was so happy. The funny thing was though, that some of the music they played was hindi music so I knew some of the songs. I found that kind of amusing because they were mixing cultures. Then some of us just walked around for a while and we finally headed home after sitting in another restaurant. At the tram stop we were talking about kitsch and Kant and stuff when we saw some fireworks from the Charles Bridge. It all just seemed so surreal. All in all it was a very good day; I got my readings done, I had some good food, had some intellectual discussions, and saw some fireworks. Interesting European experience. LOL :D

Advertisement



Tot: 0.297s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.2759s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb