One exam down.


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague
July 13th 2009
Published: September 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Today we had our Czech Language exam. It wasn’t too bad, but I guess I won’t find out how I did for a while. It’s nice to have at least one exam down. We also had a lecture on Czech-Slovak relations, which I found very interesting but the weekend caught up with me and I couldn’t stay awake. I was somewhat upset about that because I really did want to hear what our lecturer had to say. Following the Czech-Slovak lecture we had an American businessman tell us about doing business in the Czech Republic, and also internet commerce. I didn’t know exactly what he was talking about at some points, but he was very interesting.

Today was the first time I thought about coming home. A lot of people have been saying they’re ready to go back, but I never really agreed with them. But for some reason today I felt like I could head home and not be upset about leaving the Czech Republic. That might also be due in part to the fact that I received several text messages and Skype calls from two good friends of mine who broke up with each other last night. I don’t know if anyone’s ever tried to console friends from 4,400 miles away, but it’s kind of…ineffective.

On another note, I’ve been trying for the past week or so to figure out how to get my Becherovka back to the States. Apparently customs only allows you one liter of alcohol, and I have 1.5. Oh yea, and I’m underage back home, so I technically can’t have alcohol in my possession. I thought about shipping it home, but the USPS prohibits the transport of alcohol through the mail, so I’d have to go with a courier service. I’ve looked into FedEx, but so far I’ve come up with nothing (all they seem to have is wine shipping from distributors). I’m kind of frustrated and starting to wonder if it’d be worth it to just stick the bottles in my checked luggage and hope for the best.

The Kansas girls came down earlier to watch “Eurotrip” with Heather and me. I think we might be corrupting them, and I'm not sure if I should feel guilty or just laugh maniacally. It’d been a while since I’d watched the movie, so it was nice to see it again. And I feel like I appreciated a few of the scenes more since I’ve spent some time in (Central) Eastern Europe. After the movie I called home on Skype and talked to my family for a while. I just happened to open the Skype window in time for Heather (and myself) to see my brother dancing around the kitchen like an idiot, so we laughed about that for a good ten minutes. She has to think my family’s insane, but that’s ok - mostly because they are. It makes life fun.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0478s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb