Another Short Entry


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague
June 29th 2009
Published: July 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Prague 004Prague 004Prague 004

Czech Paradise
Today we went to Czech Paradise. I can’t remember the Czech name for it, but it was absolutely gorgeous. Well, first we went to Mlada Boleslav to the Skoda car plant. So I suppose I should probably put this entry in some form of chronological order. Mlada Boleslav is a small city of about 50,000 I think, and the car factory is the major industry there. I’m pretty sure Vlasta told us they employed about 25,000 people. It wasn’t a very pretty city. It was sort of depressing because a lot of the stuff wasn’t that well taken care of. Not that it was dilapidated or anything, but you could tell it was a city that had to work hard for everything, if that makes sense. In some ways it almost made me think of the Valley back home, when it was so dependent on the steel mills and coal mines, even though the cities weren’t quite comparable given that Wheeling’s never been occupied by communists. The plant itself was quite boring, but I have no interest in how cars are produced. That, and this trip was vastly overshadowed by the rest of the day at Czech Paradise.

Prague 009Prague 009Prague 009

Investigating
Czech Paradise, as I said earlier, was beautiful, amazing, gorgeous, breathtaking…I’m running out of adjectives, but I’m sure you get the point. It’s a forest with limestone (I think?) formations. I took an obscene amount of photos while we were there, so I’ll have to show everyone when I get home. A small group of us got fairly separated from the group because we were exploring instead of staying on the path. Some of the Czechs stayed behind with us, so we did a bit of rock climbing and running around like five year olds (I know, Teddi in the woods acting like a small child? Unheard of!). It was great, probably my favorite trip of the program. I think I might stop here, or else I’ll be rambling for several pages, and I can’t accurately capture the place in words.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Prague 020Prague 020
Prague 020

Honsa goofing off
Prague 035Prague 035
Prague 035

Group photo!
Prague 033Prague 033
Prague 033

Czech Paradise


Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0554s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb