Praha


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague
April 5th 2009
Published: April 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So we have not written in FOREVER. My fault, moosh has been harassing me to write for like 2 weeks now to write one....


Prague was amazing. I LOVED it. I went by myself to visit one of my best friends, Liza, the love of my life. I got to Prague at around 8 on a Friday night. I was about five steps off the plane when I realized that I did not know how to say "hello" "goodbye" "yes" "no" "thank you" or ANY other word in Czech. Whoops. Luckily most people speak English.

My second minor crisis happened at the ATM. I put my card in and had to choose whether I wanted to take out 500, 1000, 2000 etc in crowns. Ummm yea. I had NO clue what the exchange rate was. For all I knew I could have been clearing out my entire bank account. Luckily, I guessed accurately. I found my way to the bus and then to the metro, and hiked up the hill to Liza's apartment. Honestly I think she was pleasantly surprised that I made it.

After eating dinner at her place we went to Beer Factory to meet up with some of her friends. It was a really fun place where there is a keg at the table and where they keep tabs on how much beer each table drinks on a big board. We were stealth managed to grab mugs and not pay for any beer haha.



After Beer Factory we met up with a group of my fave guy friends from school at a club called Lucerna. OMG Czech people are crazy. It was 80s and 90s night so they played plenty of classics and the dancing was ridiculous. Beer costs like 50 cents and they have a wonderful kind of shot called Becherovka. It tastes like cinnamon and I was instantly a huge fan. I think it was the fact that the exchange rate actually worked in my favor for once, made me a very generous person and I started buying shots for everyone haha. We ended the night at a place called Cave Bar which is totally underground. I seriously feel like we went about 6 levels underground until we finally sat down. I got another beer which I really did not need, before we decided it was time to walk home.

We spent Saturday walking around the city, mainly in Old Town. In the morning (more like afternoon) we met the boys for breakfast at The Globe. I missed American Breakfast sooo much it was glorious. After breakfast we ditched the guys at their favorite hang out, The Tulip, ha. Liza showed me around the city and we did some serious damage shopping. Loved it. The only legit Czech food I tried was some wierd doughy thing that was covered in sugar and almonds. Old town was absolutely beautiful. It honestly looks like its straight out of a fairytale. All the buildings are painted like cupcake colors. It was the first time I had ever been to a country that had previously been communist. It was really interesting when you would randomly come upon a bland cement building that was built during the communist era sitting next to a beautiful old building.



Saturday night was pretty much equally ridiculous as Friday night. We started the night at one of Liza's friend's apartments for a potluck dinner. Liza and I made quesadillas and salad.. it was fab. After the dinner party we went out to a bar called Chapeau Rouge. At first it wasn't that great because it was absurdly crowded, but once it cleared out and more fun people came it started to be really fun. Lots of Becherovka and lots of dancing!

On Sunday, after a night of basically no sleep, Liza had to go on a field trip at around 8 in the morning. I spent the day touring the city alone. I walked from Liza's apartment up to the palace, which was a pretty long hike, especially considering I took a wrong turn and went completely out of the way. Not to mention that I had chosen to wear my new boots and my feet were pretty much destroyed. The palace is at the top of a huge hill and has an incredible view of Prague. So I trekked up the hill and looked around for a while







Overall I thought Prague was an amazing city. I had a great time with Liza and all of her friends, and I definitely think I left a lasting impression on them (if you want details you'll have to ask 😊 ). I loved seeing Liza and getting to see such a different part of Europe!


Advertisement



7th April 2009

beautiful pictures! I love prague!
11th April 2009

:)
It was mostly about beers and Becherovka, I can tell :D Anyway, Prague is a good choice, thanks for visiting Jan http://www.estec.cz

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0444s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb