This is why the French hate Americans


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
March 17th 2009
Published: March 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

My Best Friends came to Paris for the Week!!



My best friends left me in Paris this week with a sore throat, a missed test, and exhaustion. Between the going out every night and waking up every morning at 6:30 am I was bound to get sick. At least I wasn’t sick like Jaymee the entire week they were here. Now that it feels like the TGV train hit me then reversed, I’m trying to recuperate and catch up on some sleep and school.

It was my best week in Paris so far. Maybe because my friends are loud and obnoxious which is why the French hate Americans anyway, but they don’t care. So while Jaymee was sick in bed we were out and about getting hated on by some Americans but being idolized by some French, who kept wanting to get in pictures with us.

Saturday night I took them to Showcase which is a sick club under the Pont Alexandria where we started not one, but two dance circles where people kept joining in. You could totally tell when Europeans kept jumping in because their dance skills are zero to none, while Ally Steph and Siobhan are either getting low or pulling the shopping cart or fish pole which got great reviews from the circle of people. Ally of course find the two only ghetto guys at the club which I will proceed to call Balieue Boys and thinks their hot so she drags me along to meet them. This was fine because they bought us both drinks and tried conversing with us in French/english. That’s when Mario, Siobhan, and Steph decided they were over it and wanted to go home. Sunday was a touring day of the Latin Quarter and Notre Dame where of course only Steph and Siobhan paid any attention of what I had to say. Mario and Ally spent their time running around taking inappropriate pictures with fountains and statues or of inconsequential things like ducks…This was followed by the infamous Sunday night. Of course everyone had planned on taking it easy. We decided we would get dinner on the Champs Elysee at Pino’s Pizza then go Queen. Of course we took the pregame to another level and didn’t even head out till 10:45. Mario also thought it was a good idea to invite Laurel, some rando girl staying in the same room as them. This poor girl had no idea what she was in for. Between me getting in a really bad mood because I thought I broke Steph’s camera, Siobhan stealing all the knives away from the table, me getting even more pissed because no one wanted to share a pizza with me then realizing I couldn’t eat after 11 anyway because of Lent, me crying, Ally crying, and Mario crying, then finally Steph breaking glasses on the way out of the restaurant, I’m surprised Laurel didn’t pull her hair out and run in the other direction. Queen was fun except for the part that we kept getting kicked out of VIP from some transvestite woman who Siobhan proceeded to call ugly and then the transvestite barked at her. Ally spent her time on stage with a shirtless go-go dancer that worked there, Siobhan, Steph, Mario, and I spent our time dancing on the V.I.P. ledge and we were later asked if we worked at Queen every Sunday night… Needless to say it was very rough waking up at 6:30 the next morning for class.

Monday I took them to the Eiffel Tower which we decided to walk up since it was cheaper. Mario spent the whole time complaining which is not unusual. He also got attacked by a gypsy which caused a scene and later yelled at another when they tried to come over and talk to us which led to her giving Mario some scary curse. Then Ally and I took them to the Moulin Rouge where we ate an amazing Nutella, banana, and coconut crepe and Ally had to talk her way out of seeing a 20 euro show haha. Thankfully I had an excuse not to go out Monday night because Steph had to catch her flight back to Rome at 6 am. Either way the three others had an excellent night making friends with some Danish people and getting a game of beer pong going at Fifth Bar.
Tuesday, I took them around Marais which is a predominantly Jewsish area with great stores and food. Ally stopped at every bakery and talked about all the pastries she tried the previous semester. Then I took them to the best falafel place ever where Mario and Siobhan tried falafel for the first time ever. Mario complained that it was that great…whatever more for me and Siobhan. Tuesday night is student night in Paris which started out as a disaster because I ran out of minutes and wasn’t able to contact anyone while I wandered around Odeon by myself getting harassed by homeless people with scary dogs. The Frog and Princess was a blast we met people from Penn State, Ally met “Francois” and Kavita even came out with us. Mario and Siobhan spent most of their time stealing other people’s drinks… classy and we later made our way over to the Highlighter which was open after hours with some loud random girl Mario and Siobhan made friends with. I slept in the hostel and woke up to incessant knocking at 6 am which turned out to be Ally and freaking Francois. Ally woke up the whole hostel with her laughing which was great for me because I realized I had to go home before class. Mario and Siobhan headed down to the west of france to meet mario’s family friends while ally was too sick to move out of the hostel all day. No one went out Wednesday night.
Thursday I met up with them after class at the Louvre, and took them to Concorde which has all the designer stores and ended the day at La Duree which is famous for its amazing macaroons. Jaymee made it out with us and almost witnessed Ally getting hit by a moped because she refused to run across the L’Etoile in her new boots. Paige had mentioned that Thursday night was international night at Club mix so we met up with her and got into Mix for free and of course somehow made it into VIP which this time provided us with free drinks as if I needed anymore made some friends and watched Siobhan try and get in a fight with some guy who harassed her. She gave him the thumbs down and possibly another symbol which caused him to stand up and begin to walk over. This made Siobhan hide behind Mario, which got Mario nervous because he realized he couldn’t do anything. Thank god Siobhan made friends with all the big black guys from the UK earlier and they took care of the situation. I didn’t make it to class Friday morning and missed my phonetics test because Metro line 4 decided it wasn’t going to work. Awesome.
Meanwhile, Ally’s handing my phone number out to boys like its free candy. Hello Ally! I pay minute by minute this isn’t the US. I don’t want to get texts from either Pierre or your go-go dancer or get harassed by Aleksander.



Friday I was in a great place even though the day had started out really lousy and I took them to Montmarte and Sacre Couer where Ally was suckered into giving the really hot Brazilian man a euro for standing on his head. We watched the Brazilian men for more than an hour then decided we wanted fondue. Ally had been RAVING about this place called Refuge Fondue where you can drink wine out of baby bottles. We literally spent over an hour looking for this place only to discover they didn’t open until 7 pm and it was only 5pm. Hmm nice Ally. So we ate at a random café which was great anyway since you really can’t go wrong with food here. Jonathan was finally feeling better so we went to his place to before CAB which proved to be a total bust Once again! Supposedly you had to print out the VIP list and showing it on your blackberry wasn’t going to cut it. So we peaced and went to Buddha Bar instead which plays the best music ever (Arabic, Spanish, and hip hop) but it’s such a relaxed scene that I can’t stand sitting in a chair when they play such great songs. We went home early and this time I wasn’t allowed to sleep in the Hostel so I said bye to my best friends and woke up Saturday morning sad and sick. <3



Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0347s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb