Prague Soon Comes to an End...


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague
September 28th 2008
Published: September 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The same set of questions always seem to come up when meeting some new at a hostel. In fact the begining of the converstion will usually begin with (and any varation to): "Where are you from?" or/then "How long have you been in ?". From there the conversation goes back and forth between past travels and future plans. And then here's the turning point, if something clicks the conversation can continue about other things or will just stop right there... I've had my fair share of both. What can also happen, if you're unlucky, is names will never come up. I kid not, I can't begin to count the number of times I'll be talking with someone for a lengthy amount of time and no one introduced themselves. It's easy enough to start talking to someone, but who starts off with "Hey, what's your name?", that just seems a little too forward. There definatly is an art to it and I think I'm beginning to get the hang of it.

I met two Irish girls and an American guy a few days back and we rented bikes and rode around the city. And if only it sounded that easy. Let me first begin with that I've been riding a fixed gear the past three and half months and hadn't even touch a free-wheel bicycle (ok, maybe a little bit) so what do I end up doing? First off, I pedal backwards to slow down... nope. And when we hit a little hill I forget I can coast and continue to pedal... It was almost like learning to ride all over again.

And I lost my train of thought... Actually I finished that last paragraph right before going to a pub, with, funny enough, a bunch of people whose names I don't know. And that was about 19 hours ago. The thing about Prague, pubs and bars specific, is smoking is aloud everywhere. It can really make a time uncomfortable but luckly a half litre of beer was 23 crowns, about $1.5 CAD. Also the pub looked like an old cellar. Stone brick walls and everything was below street level. Very cool.

I bought my bus ticket to Cesky Krumlov today and leave on Wednesday. For a two and half hour bus ride, it only cost $11 CAD. I am a fan.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0317s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb