A week and some days later...


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague
September 25th 2008
Published: September 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Prague Sites

Green - My hostelYellow - Charles BridgeRed - Castle and Cathedra

Prague CastlePrague CastlePrague Castle

Prague Castle and Cathedral from the Charles Bridge.
It's been about a week since my first entry and I've done heaps of things since than (though I might not talk about them all here; gotta leave stories for when I get home).

For the most part my time has been taken up with wondering around the city which is incredibly easy to do. Other than that, it's been museums, galleries and walking tours. And movies! The hostel I'm staying at has a really nice flat-screen t.v. and about 20 movies. It makes nice post-dinner activies. I don't think I raved enough (or at all) about this hostel in my last entry, so here it goes... Relative to other clean hostels in Prague, it's cheap. The location isn't in the center of the city but a close 15 minute walk/5 minute tram ride from the center. Free and unlimated internet access with eight computers. T.V. (see previous comment about it). And the staff are young, post-world travels that know the in-and-outs of Prague.

It's amazing to walk around a city that's existed for so long and is so reach with history. Ok, that describes almost every place in Europe but soooo much of Prague is hundreds of years
PraguePraguePrague

Taken from atop a tower in a park.
old, and usually more. The Charles Bridge is 600 years old, as is the Cathedral at Prague Castle. And there heaps of churches, synagogues and monasteries that are anywhere from 700 to 400 years old and some are still in use. Beyond that, walking around in the city core, and even out side that, most buildings date back to the 1800's. Having surrived war after war after war will do that.

I extended my stay in Prague a week a few days ago. When I check out on October 1st I'll be headed down to Cesky Krumlov and I'm sure another post will be up before than but I don't guarantee anything.....


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Olden BuildingOlden Building
Olden Building

On the way to a bakery...


Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0374s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb