4th of July, not enough sleep, and saying goodbye


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague
July 6th 2008
Published: July 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

...and they slowly start to trickle away. The amazing core group of people that I stumbled upon at Santa Jorde Hostel is slowly crumbling, and only two of them are left. They keep giving me hard time because I felt a little depressed and told them I missed all these people, and they were like, 'what, we're not good enough for ya huh?' It is great to still have them around as we have had an amazing time together. Danielle and Shannon organized a river rafting trip we went on for the Fourth of July with the three other Canadian guys (from Canada day with the flag) who have been here since the beginning (but just left, so sad). Now especially the people from Colorado will read rive rafting and immediately think of a huge river winding down a deep canyon, which would be just about as far away from what we did as you could possibly be. I should call it a home made kayak course in a sort of drainiage canal part on the side of the river about ten minutes outside of the city. Regardless, we had a blast, and took like five or six (long extended) runs down this course, which ended up by the end being our 'guide' (awesome guy) mostly trying to flip the boat and get us all washed down. By the end of the day my lack of sleep had caught up with me and I was pretty much a zombie, so I didn't get too crazy for the 4th, but we did get a pretty huge chunk of meat onto the grill with a ton of sausages and had a solid gathering. Rafting, grilling, drinking and good people satisfied my Independance Day celebration abitions (granted with a very Czech feel to them) and there were even a few fireworks going off over head of the hostel as my night wore down. I couldn't have asked for more (well more sleep probably would have been smart).




Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Fourth of July GrillinFourth of July Grillin
Fourth of July Grillin

A great way to cap off a tiring day of paddeling


Tot: 0.228s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0529s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb