Good times to start - Prague!


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague
March 19th 2008
Published: March 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Prague was much different to what I had imagined and so I’ve decided to stay here for a little while to do some investigation. You will (hopefully!) have read my first entry, city tripper, which describes the reason why I’m out here, travelling Europe and exploring its cities: I’ll soon have to complete an internship for university which will be of really quite a long time and because of this I want to be sure that I make a good decision about where I go. I speak the major European languages well and either way, the aim of my internship will not be for language learning so much as to get an idea of a new culture and get some good work experience on my resume. So it is in Prague where I find myself and find myself settling very well into the culture - something which I want for my time abroad - somewhere that feels natural to me.

To sustain myself and be able to open my eyes a little to the culture, I have got myself a job - the usual teaching English one which is so much recommended. I can honestly say that I am loving it though. It is not all Czech people (as charming as they are) that I am giving classes to - the city is very multicultural and so I’m getting to use my language skills when teaching (lots of French coming back to me!). I give one to one English class and thoroughly enjoy it; so much so I’m thinking of doing some formal courses to give myself a chance of getting into a language school as a teacher in the future. At the moment I only do classes privately and though it is fun, as an income, it is hard to plan!

So after finding a job teaching English, albeit only for 10 hours a week, I’m still enjoying myself here in Prague and now am settled, am really enjoying the culture and finding myself a little more comfortable. Not that I wasn’t before but now I don’t feel so much the tourist - which is a nice change! I will only be here for 5 more weeks as I am eager to see other things (the grass is always greener, right?) and also there’s plenty of time for Prague in the future (maybe even my internship)…but saying that, there is plenty to see NOW too!

Known as the most beautiful city in Europe, there are the famous sites I’d like to see such as the Astronomical Clock and the Charles Bridge - but there’s also the less tourism centred things too - like the Allegro restaurant (which won the first Michelin star in the whole of Eastern Europe!).

So far I’ve really enjoyed the fact that culture is all around - you don’t have to go looking for it. There are musicians on every street corner, so much architecture it is untrue (I can imagine living here, having gorgeous, awe-inspiring walks to work, the shops…everything being a true pleasure!). Last night I was lucky enough to see some of the youth culture in action. The Academy of Performing Arts put on a special show, an outside production of a traditional folk tale. The work which went into the thirty minute show was incredible and I feel lucky to have seen such a spectacle - it was free and I love the fact that you can just “walk into” these types of things!

Please, if anyone has any “inside tips” about Prague, let me know - I really want to take advantage of the fact I’m here and am finding that I’m loving it more every time I find out something new!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0219s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb