Quesadillas, sushi and curry; Czech style


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague
February 10th 2007
Published: February 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Chinese FoodChinese FoodChinese Food

This is in the neighborhood of our kolej (dorm).
My love and indulgence for food has not been disappointed one bit by the food here in Prague. In fact, I have not had one bad meal since I've been here. Lunch has been typical, sandwich (most of the time from Paneria...mmm three cheese and tomato panini), a pastry of some sort and ice tea. Dinner has mostly been made in the dorm, but we only have a hot plate to cook on so pasta and stir fry is a favorite. But when I go out, the food has been fabulous. This week I indulged a little bit and went out a bit more to try some new cuisines. First I went to the English bookstore/ cafe, The Globe. Sure its owned by Americans and frequented most often by ex-pats but it is exactly what my Prague experience was missing, a little bit of home. You can actually get a full sized mug of coffee here. Earlier in the week Jess and I had lunch there and for $5 we got a soup, salad, main course and coffee, and it was delicious. I returned again this morning to try out their brunch and their menu was pretty extensive (and it's served
The GlobeThe GlobeThe Globe

Specialty coffees at the Globe
til 4pm) so I think I will be going back to the Globe fairly regularly. My BLT and hashbrowns were great and a treasured find in this pastry loving country. There are also a few items on the menu that I'm pretty sure are just some of the owner's random fav. dishes like quesadillas and banana milkshakes.
I also went out to Thai for dinner earlier this week and I would say it was probably one of the top four Thai restuarants I've ever been to, which is quite a bold statement. Although the menu lacked both Thai iced teas and Thai coffees, but did have Mango Lhasis, typically found on an Indian menu...bizarre. At the beginning of last week I also went to a little Chinese restuarant that was pretty good too. I stuck with the chicken fried rice but I went with Jon, Chris, Miles, Josh and Neal and we all shared dishes...Neal's was the best choice.
I had lunch with Josh yesterday and we went to Sushi...which was astoundingly good. I usually dislike any kind of sushi, but I thoroughly enjoyed our california and avocado rolls....mmmm. Needless to say, the food is fabu! I have also been
Delicious SushiDelicious SushiDelicious Sushi

Even the ginger on the side was amazing.
eating lots of soups, potatoes and trying the sausage and salami...I haven't been disappointed yet.
As like as I am mentioning eating I should also mention that I have been doing a lot of walking as well. This entire city is so managable on foot and I love walking up the hill home after school, its a good workout. I also went on my first run the other day since I've been here and it felt so refreshing. The crisp night air was great and I always feel like a nice long run clears my head. Jess runs everyday and she took me on here circuit up and down Petrin hill, my calves were angry at me two days later. It was a challenge to keep up with Jess' pace, but it felt great.


Advertisement



11th February 2007

ay ay ay dun dun dun dun
stomp the yard. stomp the thai food.

Tot: 0.525s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 55; dbt: 0.3094s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb