Cities of Light Travel day DTW to Prague


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague
June 12th 2022
Published: June 12th 2022
Edit Blog Post

We spent most of Saturday very satisfied with ourselves that we completed our packing for the next 16 days. I kept thinking, ‘What are we missing?’ and nothing came to mind, so I enjoyed our Saturday lounging around the house, enjoying the great spring weather on the porch.

We went out to dinner for some excellent Mediterranean pizza then off to my mother-in- law’s house to meet with my wife’s brother, his wife, my niece and nephew, and their two kids for my mother-in-law’s 99th birthday. We sat around and told stories and just enjoyed family time when my lovely niece, Christina commented about my travel blog. She enjoys reading the blog and learned how best to travel and be prepared for anything. She made a casual comment that she especially enjoyed the idea of packing a clothes line for travel washing. When she said that, a small explosion went off in my head! I forget to pack half of our travel essentials!

We said our goodbyes and headed home. I hit the bedroom pantry and collected the aforementioned clothesline, first aid kit, night shade for sleeping, ear plugs, wet wipes, and several other essentials I completely forgot. So, a major shout out to my niece Christina for her blog reading and reminding me what I was missing.

We got up this morning way too early, but the excitement was building and who can sleep when excited, am I right? I checked the last minute packing, closed the suitcases, and used TSA approved locks. Then, we waited for the Limo to arrive. Bob, our driver, arrived on time and we loaded the car for the hour drive to DTW.

We got to the airport and looked in the entrance to see piles and piles of people with their luggage everywhere. Boy, were we glad we got here early! We looked left and found the United baggage check-in line and there was no one there!

We sauntered up to the desk, handed over our credentials, and three minutes later we were handed our boarding passes and said goodbye to our luggage until we arrive in Prague.

I headed to the CLEAR PRECHECK TSA line and Cathy was heading to the LONG LONG lines for regular TSA check. As I dropped her off, I saw that people were standing in line with way too much baggage for carry on, so I knew something was wrong. She was in the baggage check-in line for some other airline. I asked her to follow me to the TSA line which was completely empty!

I stopped next door at the CLEAR check-in and met her less than a minute later, having passed unchallenged through TSA. We went from the limo to the secure side of the airport in less than thirty minutes. That’s the good news. The bad news was that is was 10:30 in the morning and our flight leaves at 2:30. Four hours in the airport could be a challenge, and expensive if you have to buy food and such.

So, the first thing I do is check for airline clubs where we can relax, drink, and dine in comfort and for free. I google lounges and find that the Evans’ terminal has a Priority Club Lounge, but it’s closed on Sunday! Damn, I thought.

So we meandered around the airport and started toward Gate D-1 when we passed a Starbucks at gate 5. Never one to pass up a specialty coffee, Cathy got two Vanilla Sweet Cream Cold Brew coffees. We sat at an empty Spirit Airlines’ gate and drank our coffee. I noticed my phone needed a charge and there were no plugs around the low cost Spirit waiting area, so I suggested we head toward United Gate 1 where I was sure we would find a plug.

As we headed toward the gate, we passed the Priority Club Lounge. Lamenting it being closed, I approached the door and, low and behold, it opened! They had just started today reopening on Sunday!

So, in we go, and we were treated to spacious and empty accommodations. They will be putting out a buffet of various hot and cold foods, salads, and beverages. This gives us the chance to unwind, eat some food, and get ready for the next leg of the journey as we make our way to Chicago.

Cathy decided to add her comments to this year’s travel blog so this year’s publication is brought to you by Phil and Cathy.

Advertisement



13th June 2022

Tokledo ?????
I didn't know there was a "K" in Toledo

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0465s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb