Birthday Abroad!


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague » Zizkov
March 16th 2010
Published: March 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

This past weekend I celebrated my 20th birthday! My roommates Marisa and Elisha woke me up with cards and cake. It was a great surprise. During the day we went to the chocolate museum and that was delicious. We also tried this new restaurant right by our apartment for dinner and I had some amazing pasta. My roommate Elisha got pizza with spinach and egg and it was actually really good too. Over all it was a perfect way to start a new decade.

I also went to a hockey game which was fun but also weird because it was just like the US. They played the same songs to get the crowd going and had the same cheers. One thing that was different was the fighting. There were no fights! They are allowed to fight, but it's rare to see one.

A strange high-light of my week was finding Tupperware at a store. My roommates and I got some and made food to put in it right away. I've been wanting to make food a lot but it was hard because I couldn't save it. Now I have two different kinds of pasta in my fridge and a nice trail mix on the counter.

Washing clothes here has been kind of hard because the coldest you can wash anything is 65 degrees celcius. All of the dye runs out of the clothes too so you have to be really careful about separating colors. There also are not dryers which I was fine with but I didn't realize how nice it was to have a lint-catcher. There are big balls of lint on EVERYTHING. It also makes big dust bunnies. Speaking of animals, the other day I was sitting at our desk by our balcony and out of the corner of my eye I saw a HUGE rat. Not just a slightly larger than average rat, but a BEAST. I thought it was a cat at first but I had enough time to get a second look. Thank god it was outside and the door was closed because sometimes that door does not like to close. I never want to open it again just in case the rat comes back. Gross.

Happy early St. Patrick's day!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0893s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb