St. Patrick's Day and Poland


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague » Zizkov
March 30th 2010
Published: March 30th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I haven't updated in while, but I will try to keep it brief instead of a giant entry.

St. Patrick's day was a lot of fun. Prague itself doesn't do much to celebrate it but there are a few Irish pubs that did. We went to one pub, the Dubliner which was a lot of fun. There was a band playing U2 and other classics. I had an Irish Car Bomb for the first time and that was actually pretty good. It's like a jag bomb but the shot is Irish cream, like Bailey's and whiskey and is dropped into a half pint of Guinness.

This past weekend my program went to Krakow, Poland. We got there late Friday night and had dinner. I had pumpkin soup with honey glazed carrots on the side and that was really good. Saturday we went to Auschwitz. It's something that I would recommend anyone to do but is not exactly fun. It was a strange feeling to know that I was standing in a place that 1.1 million people were killed by starvation, beatings and gas chambers. We went into one gas chamber and I can't even begin to describe what that was like. One area that we went to was where the "workers" slept. It was extremely crammed and cold. Our guide said that when the camp was liberated the mattresses were still moving even though no one was there. They were moving because of the insects and rodents living inside of them. Just one of the disturbing living circumstances. It was a very somber day and bus ride back to say the least.

On a lighter note, Saturday night we had an amazing Polish dinner. I can't tell you all of what I ate but it was good. There was mushroom soup which was amazing and chicken with vegetables that was full of flavor. There was another pork/rice filled roll that was by far the best. I have no idea what was in in or what it was wrapped in but I am already craving it. After dinner we went to a fun bar that was playing really good music and had a midnight snack at a kebab place.

Before we left on Sunday we took a city tour and saw some really cool things going on outside of a beautiful church because it was Palm Sunday. There was also a really cool Easter market that we got to go to. I had pierogis and that was really good.

Now in Prague I am studying for midterms that I have this week. I plan on taking many study breaks to walk around the Easter Market here in Old Town Square. There are some really cool stands and wonderful food everywhere.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.264s; Tpl: 0.048s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1231s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb