Marianske Lazne...ahhhh....!


Advertisement
Published: August 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

It is truly a breath of fresh air here! I arrived yesterday, after a little diversion en route by train!

When I purchased my ticket, I asked if I needed to change trains...and was told no. When I got onto the train, I confirmed (as I typically do) I was on the right train. Most of the time I know I am...but hey, a little added assurance goes a long way (before getting too comfy!). So I asked this nice lady, and she confirmed I was on the right train.

About 2 hours into a 3 hour train ride...I was told by the "nice lady" that we had to get off the train. Uhm, you guessed it...I'm thinking, "...but I was told I didn't have to change...!?" It was quite the scene, 'cuz she was trying, so sincerely, to tell me what the story was in Czech, as if I'd picked up the language after 2 hours studying there on the train! There were other women chiming in, too, until one finally said we needed to change to the bus, then back to the train. Ok...looked like everyone else on the train was getting off...so off I went.

I still have no idea what the story was. I can only imagine that due to construction (going on where we got off) that a portion of the track was out of service? It's the only thing that makes sense. So we loaded everyone from the train to 3 or 4 buses, and drove about 15-20 mins to the next station, where we boarded again...and eventually arrived at our destinations! Too funny.

I have to say, the Czech countryside is amazing, too! Sometimes I felt like I was in England...it kinda reminded me of my train ride to see my Aunt Brigid outside/north of London. There were green rolling hills, a lot of forest area/pines, lotsa wheat...and even more SUNFLOWERS! Groves of them...!

Upon arrival, I walked about 1.5 miles from the station to my hotel. If I knew it was as far, I may have jumped on the tram I knew was available...but again, stubborn irish woman...I'll just walk! I'm glad I did though, 'cuz you get to see a bit of where you're at...and get your bearings....so from that standpoint, it was good. My back wasn't too psyched, but it was fine after a bit of stretching in the room.

My room's ok, not the Ritz by any means...but it'll do for a few nights. I'm barely going to be in there, except for sleeping...so whatever! It has a few erotic photos hung in it, too...hmmmm........interesting, yup....interesting...! 😊

When I settled a bit in my room, I went out and wondered around. I was looking for a sweatshirt/jacket..'cuz it is a lot cooler here...so we'll see what today brings. I walked around a lot, finding a few stores, but nothing either reasonably priced...or in my size.

I also stopped at a couple bars (Edinburgh Bar...and Irish Pub - those are the names!) where I hoped to find some English-speaking folk, but no luck. I don't think I've heard anyone speaking English since I arrived...which isn't all bad!

I slept GREAT my first night! I think I actually got to sleep quicker than usual as well! I got up a couple times to go to the bathroom down the hall (not in my room - but I have a shower, just no toilet)...and went right back to sleep. It's SOOOoo quiet, a welcome change from being on the main street at the Czech Inn, and hearing LOUDLY the trams whizzing by most, if not all of the night!

Today I'm going to look into renting a bike...and can't wait! There's lots of trails, both for hiking and biking...so off I go!

I'm still solidifying my plans when I leave Czech. I'm having second thoughts about going to Munich / Dachau, and am looking into the possibility of visiting my friend, Gerhard's family/town outside Wurzburg, Germany (apx. 2 hours north of Munich). We'll see - I'll keep you posted!

Have a great HUMP day all - I'm off! 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0578s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb