A long bus ride


Advertisement
Croatia's flag
Europe » Croatia » Istria » Pula
September 9th 2006
Published: June 16th 2017
Edit Blog Post

01 Cigarette stop01 Cigarette stop01 Cigarette stop

This is one of the towns we stopped at so the driver could have a cigarette.
Geo: 44.8236, 13.9119

After breakfast this morning, I packed my bag, knowing that this will be one of the last times I will be packing my bag. I said goodbye to Etta, Pero and Nada. Eva and Sime drove me to the bus station. Was sad to be leaving, it was really relaxing being here and great to settle down for a little while. I have promised that next time I come I will be able to speak Croatian- I have a few years to learn. We had a drink at one of the many bars there while we waited for my bus to arrive. This was going to be a long journey and I wasn't looking forward to it. I thought I would have been able to catch a ferry, but no, the bus it is. Sat at the front of the bus on the coast side for a good view. Every hour we had a break so that the drivers could smoke a cigarette, this was fine by me and my stomach needed a break from the driving. Wasn't feeling 100% at all. The drive was very scenic like the rest of the country. Saw many nearby islands, little coastal
02 The same town as previous photo02 The same town as previous photo02 The same town as previous photo

Island to the left and mainland to the right.
towns, boats and mountains. Arrived at Pula at 7pm after leaving Zadar at midday. The walk to the hostel was only 10 minutes. On the way I saw the amphitheatre. After checking into the very quiet hostel- peak season is over and there aren't many tourists around at all, I walked around town. Found some dinner and saw some of the sights that were lit up. Once again I had the hostel room to myself.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

03 Amphitheatre03 Amphitheatre
03 Amphitheatre

The amphitheatre of Pula at sunset on my way to the hostel.
04 Arch of Sergius04 Arch of Sergius
04 Arch of Sergius

Used to be part of the city walls.
05 Temple05 Temple
05 Temple

The Temple of Augustus and the town hall.
06 By lights06 By lights
06 By lights

The amphitheatre by lights at night.


Tot: 0.176s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0478s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb