My Holidays with Friends in Split


Advertisement
Croatia's flag
Europe » Croatia » Dalmatia » Split
August 28th 2016
Published: August 28th 2016
Edit Blog Post

I flew into Split in Croatia with some friends to explore the rich possibilities in this very trendy location. I had spent other holidays in Europe but I looked forward to this one due to my love for history. Split is over 1,700 years old and holds many interesting features. When my plane touched down at the Airport, I was set for a full adventure. The stories about the Adriatic Sea, Marjan Hill and most especially the Diocletian Palace held me in awe. We were quick to discover that the people were very hospitable and the contemporary designs of Split had not lost touch with its ancient history.



The Sunny and warm effect I felt as I stepped into the summer heat showed we came at the right time of the year. We quickly took a tour to a spot where we could view the Adriatic Sea . I remembered all the stories I heard about the Roman conquest and the various armies that has once called this area their territory. It was not clear to me if it was the history or the majestic flow of the Sea breeze that kept me captivated. All I know was that this place was simply magical.



I could have spent more time at this place but I remembered that I had not seen the Diocletian Palace . Whatever I felt at the Adriatic Sea was nothing compared to the grandeur of this Palace. The blend of the Roman Architectural designs with the recent constructive works done on the Palace was simply breathtaking. Each turn showed the precision, poise and panache that has withstood the elements for many generations. I could tell a thousand stories about this palace but I knew that Split held so much more for me and my friends. We decided to take our sightseeing experience to new heights.



One of my friends knew a local Croatia charter that had great offers for boat hire. We quickly dashed to the place and I must say that their customer service was simply amazing. I had known that Split was one of the best holiday destinations in the world but the reality showed that I had underestimated the beauty of this place. Each of the Islands that we visited via the Boat Cruise was full of amazing features. I could see the Birds that called these Islands home; fluttering and chirping as we took in the beautiful scenes.



I fell in love with the Boat because it was cozy, convenient and took us to beautiful Islands with speed. One memorable time for me and my friends was when we decided to analyze the Islands to make our Top 5 list. We ended up confused because each location had some spectacular that made it simply special. We agreed to make this destination the choice place for our family vacation. My friends did not stop thanking me for insisting that we visit Split, Croatia. In their words, they said – “this is the best place in the world no matter the perspective we look at it.”

Advertisement



Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0917s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb