Staying in a Roman Emperor's Palace in Split


Advertisement
Croatia's flag
Europe » Croatia » Dalmatia » Split
October 21st 2023
Published: December 28th 2023
Edit Blog Post

Me, Bell TowerMe, Bell TowerMe, Bell Tower

St Lawrence's Cathedral, Trogir
Dear All

Greetings from Split! This is another amazing Croatian city, though really quite different to Dubrovnik. Being Croatia's second largest city at 265,000 people, it is a large and busy urban area with sprawling suburbs filled with communist-era residential tower blocks and hulking great port and industrial areas. Dubrovnik, on the other hand, was slow-paced and deeply charming, a quaint and seriously splendid little city with a comparatively diminutive 40,000 residents. Whilst different, Split also packed a punch (almost) as good as Dubrovnik to me, most notably with its unbelievable Diocletian's Palace right in the heart of town, more on that below.

I must admit, I was a little disappointed with the way I arrived there though. I had originally planned a fast ferry ride from Dubrovnik to spend three hours on the island of Korčula, and then another fast ferry from there on to Split, thus to include a bit of Croatian island-hopping on my journey. But unfortunately due to the high winds which had closed the Cable Car up Mt Srd back in Dubrovnik, both ferries were also cancelled! With winds up to and above 50mph though, it was probably a good idea not to set sail on the high seas on this day! I was fortunately able to book a bus to Split instead, which turned out to be a good journey. The bus was fully-booked and seriously cramped, presumably due to the cancelling of the ferries. I ended up on the back row by the window with more amazing coastal Croatian views for half of the journey before the route took us inland, and was sitting next to a lovely and very friendly Christian mother and daughter travelling duo from New Zealand - I felt blessed and honoured to talk with them.

While a visit to one of Croatia's famed islands was unfortunately off the cards this time, my disappointment was actually just about made up for by getting to travel along the newly-built Pelješac Bridge, completed just last year in 2022. If you look at a map of Bosnia and Croatia, the former has a tiny sliver of coastline around its only port town of Neum. Only five miles long, it still forms a lifeline for Bosnia to reach the outside world by sea, and thus avoiding it becoming landlocked. This does mean, however, that Dubrovnik and its stretch of coastline is completely cut off by land from the rest of Croatia. Prior to last year, this bus route I was travelling on would have briefly entered and exited Bosnia along its journey, creating I'm sure all manner of political issues given that Croatia has been a member of the European Union since 2013. But by building this bridge from the Pelješac peninsula to the main Croatian mainland, such international diplomatic headaches are avoided, and it was a very cool way for me on this journey to see this new 2.5km bridge construction.

I arrived in Split just before 5pm, and headed straight to my accommodation - a self-catering studio right in the heart of Diocletian's Palace itself! What a special place to stay, and what an honour to be sojourning in the very same palace built for the retirement of a Roman Emperor, himself originally from Dalmatia, nearly 2000 years ago! The place was originally built at the end of the 3rd century AD for said Emperor, but became the resting place of choice for many a Roman official afterwards. I particularly love the name of each of the four entrances, entering the Palace from each of its four surrounding
St Domnius CathedralSt Domnius CathedralSt Domnius Cathedral

Diocletian's Palace, Split
squared walls: the Brass Gate from the south, Iron Gate from the west, Golden Gate from the north, and Silver Gate from the east. Upon the collapse of the Roman Empire, and as marauding Slavs were heading into the Balkan region, the town's inhabitants took refuge in the Palace itself, which has survived all these centuries as the residential and commercial centre of the wider city of Split.

Bags down, I headed out to explore this amazing Roman Palace just as the sun was setting and darkness was closing in. With all the ancient buildings, columns, arches, steps and paving stones magically lit up at night, the place took on a back-in-time feel, and many times on my wander I felt right in the middle of what life must have been like in both medieval and Roman times and cities. It was a very special wander. The highlight was arriving in the Palace's piece-de-resistance, St Domnius Cathedral, just in time for evening mass, my first mass in Croatian, and a particularly special location for a mass. I stocked up at a nearby supermarket, ready to call it an evening and very excited to explore more the next day. While the accommodation was very unique and affordable, there was a family living upstairs who spent their time in the mornings and evenings continually thumping around, which was really quite disturbing even while wearing earplugs and using my white noise machine I always take with me on trips for such occasions. Fortunately they quietened down somewhat at night, but their presence was always there, and was a bit of a downer during my time in Split. Despite this, I actually slept well my first night, thankfully.

My full day of explorations in and around Split was really enjoyable. Although it rained heavily for most of the day, including a rather intense thunderstorm at one point, with my raincoat on and a bit of sheltering in key locations at times, I did not let this spoil the fun. In fact, I think I enjoyed it even more, as it made the places I visited much more atmospheric I think, and certainly kept the other tourists at bay.

After a morning walk through Diocletian's Palace, in simply just leaving my accommodation there, I first walked around the city's beautiful waterfront area, noting that there is actually a British Consulate there! I
St Domnius CathedralSt Domnius CathedralSt Domnius Cathedral

Diocletian's Palace, Split
then took a train from the train station, my only train journey on this Croatian adventure, and in fact a rare occurrence there as there were only four trains scheduled to leave Split that day, this being one of them. Croatia is not really a big train-faring nation, they mostly travel around by bus and car. Still, it wasn't a long journey, and I got off just two stops and twelve minutes later in the highly industrial Split suburb of Solin, for an absolutely magical exploration of the ruins of the ancient Roman town of Salona there.

Salona was actually the ancient Roman centre of its province of Dalmatia, with a population of 60,000 people around the 3rd century when Diocletian himself was born there, and in fact Split itself only grew around the Emperor Diocletian's retirement place which he had built further down the coast from this centre. The highlights of my visit to the ruins were the remains of the amphitheatre there, a basilica called Kapljuč, another basilica called Manastirine, and the archaeological centre housed in a beautiful building and adjoining birdsong-filled garden called Tusculum. It was in the amphitheatre that St Domnius, Bishop of Salona who was also born there around the same time as Diocletian, met a martyr's death at the hands of the very same Emperor Diocletian during his anti-Christian persecutions. St Domnius was subsequently buried in the Manastirine basicila when the city of Salona later accepted Christianity, while another five early Christian martyrs were buried at Kapljuč. St Domnius has the last laugh over Diocletian though, when the latter's tomb was removed from the Temple of Jupiter in the middle of his very own Diocletian's Palace, and replaced with the tomb of St Domnius. The Temple was also converted to a Christian place of worship, which became what we see today in the afore-mentioned and -visited St Domnius Cathedral.

I felt my visit to Salona really tied up lots of loose ends in my understanding of the Roman and early Christian history of Split, and the garden of Tusculum was also gorgeous to sit in when the rain stopped for a short while. The afore-mentioned thunderstorm happened in the middle of my visit, and I was actually rather afraid of a lighting strike while visiting Kapljuč as it was very exposed. I fortunately found refuge during the worst of the deluge under a very solid Roman arch, when the wind howled and the rain came down in sheets. I thanked the ancient Romans for having been so considerate in building this arch here 2000 years ago, which gave me some well-needed shelter on this day today! It was also possible to see the ancient craggy mountain-top fortress of Klis in the far distance from Solano, which I was pleased about as I wasn't able to fit a visit to this particular gem into my day.

After this brilliant visit, I then took the number 37 bus 15 miles up the coast, passing through Split's Airport along the way, to spend the afternoon in the gorgeous island-city of Trogir. Trogir, along with Split, Dubrovnik, Zadar, Rab, Cres, and Kotor in Montenegro, form what are referred to as the Dalmatian city-states. These were individually-governed entities which flourished between the end of the Roman era and the arrival of the Venetians in the 11th century, but thereupon fell into continual decline due to the lack of interest in developing the region economically by the Venetians. Thus, what exists today are some really quite unique little towns which have changed little over the last 1000 years or so until they were re-discovered, if you like, by early Victorian tourists during the 19th century. Given their lack of recent development, their preservation is exceptional, and a walk around the three ancient city-states that I did visit, Dubrovnik, Split and now Trogir, was very much like travelling back in time.

Very much inspired by a fellow travel blogger's visit there (Hi Lori! 😁), I first headed up the bell tower of the city's main sight, St Lawrence's Cathedral, for some seriously awesome views all around, of the city and its small island below, over the surrounding sea, over to the adjacent larger island of Čiovo, and back towards the Croatian mainland. The views were awesome, and the rain was starting to ease up now with some hints of sunlight peeking through the clouds, which was an added bonus! I then circumnavigated the small island, measuring just 200m by 500m at its widest points, noting that parts of it were slightly flooded from the surrounding sea, including a couple of streets in the town itself. I wondered if the storm we'd been having for the last three days had caused some kind of storm surge to brew or something.

I then crossed the small Čiovski Most bridge over to Čiovo Island to walk along part if its coast, returning to the Croatian mainland again by the more modern Croatian Veterans Bridge, built in 2001, before taking the number 37 bus back again to Split. By this time, evening was falling and the rain had stopped, so I took the opportunity to have another wander around the amazing Diocletian's Palace again before heading back to my accommodation. Again, I have to say, what a wonderful choice and opportunity to be able to stay right in the middle of such an amazing place, and I feel that with my numerous wanderings, I really learnt to find my way around and navigate the fascinating, labyrinthine streets there.

I thoroughly enjoyed my time in Split. While the weather was mostly stormy, windy and rainy, this only added to the allure of such an intriguing place. The next morning, I was taking an early 7am bus inland to my next destination, Croatia's famous Plitvice Lakes National Park, before heading on to my final destination on this mini Croatian adventure, the capital city of Zagreb.

But of course, more on these in my next ones. Until then, thanks for reading, and all the best for now.

Alex


Additional photos below
Photos: 151, Displayed: 29


Advertisement

St Domnius CathedralSt Domnius Cathedral
St Domnius Cathedral

Diocletian's Palace, Split
VestibulVestibul
Vestibul

Diocletian's Palace, Split
My Accommodation, Diocletian's PalaceMy Accommodation, Diocletian's Palace
My Accommodation, Diocletian's Palace

Small door and window to the right
VestibulVestibul
Vestibul

Diocletian's Palace, Split
St Domnius CathedralSt Domnius Cathedral
St Domnius Cathedral

Diocletian's Palace, Split
St Domnius CathedralSt Domnius Cathedral
St Domnius Cathedral

Diocletian's Palace, Split
St Domnius CathedralSt Domnius Cathedral
St Domnius Cathedral

Diocletian's Palace, Split
St Domnius CathedralSt Domnius Cathedral
St Domnius Cathedral

Diocletian's Palace, Split
Silver GateSilver Gate
Silver Gate

Diocletian's Palace, Split


28th December 2023

Great visit!
Dave here.....we've always wanted to visit that corner of the continent. Looks like it was very enjoyable!
28th December 2023

Croatia
I very much enjoyed my time in this corner of Europe. So much to see, so unique and beautiful. I hope you guys get to visit sometime. All the best Dave! 😊
28th December 2023

Split.... a hulking port
A fresh rain can make a place glisten is the light and smell much better. Thank goodness for the arch to protect you and yes the lightening would be a concern in an exposed area. Sorry to hear about the ferry and cable car but the bridge sounds fantastic... a good trade off. You've absorbed the history and enjoyed the town. So many places, so little time. MJ
28th December 2023

Split
Thanks Merry, I loved Split! Industrial and gritty, but also beautiful and touristy. Thank goodness indeed for that Roman arch in the right place! And you're right, I felt very much compensated for the cancelled ferries by travelling over the new Peljesac Bridge. Thanks for reading and commenting 😊
28th December 2023
St Domnius Cathedral

Amazing Architecture
This cathedral is stunning. I look forward to seeing it someday.
28th December 2023
St Domnius Cathedral

Amazing Architecture
I could have spent hours in that little square. Definitely the heart and soul of Diocletian's Palace, with stunning architecture everywhere.
28th December 2023
Crossing the Pelješac Bridge

Peljesac Bridge
This bridge is a beauty. I'm glad you had this experience.
28th December 2023
Crossing the Pelješac Bridge

Peljesac Bridge
Thanks Merry. It was a good trade off for the cancelled ferries. I think I was the only excited person on the bus!
28th December 2023
Back Alleyway

Trogir
Charming Town
28th December 2023
Back Alleyway

Trogir
Charming indeed - a good word I think for little Trogir.
28th December 2023
Peristil Courtyard

Beautiful Courtyard
A fantastic visit at night. Wow.
28th December 2023
Peristil Courtyard

Beautiful Courtyard
As my accommodation was just around the corner, I was fortunate enough to experience this beauty at all times of the day.
28th December 2023

Spli & Trogir
Good to see you fitted Trogir into the schedule. As you say, the Roman centre of Split is something else given the size of the city and a great base.
28th December 2023

Split and Trogir
Thanks John. I didn't realise how close they were until I got there, so hastily added a visit to Trogir during my time in Split. Beautiful places!
31st December 2023

Refreshing Memories!
Alex, it is seriously difficult for me to keep up with your travel blogs considering how many and how varied your travels have been most recently!! Your travels are impressive!! However, reading this particular blog certainly has brought back some refreshing memories of my own travels to Dubrovnik, Split, Trogir, and Plitvice Lakes (your next blog installment??). The history and architecture are incredible. I can understand how amazing it must have been for you to add to it all by staying inside the walls of Diocletian's Palace itself! If my memory serves me correctly, I believe we heard an impromptu a cappella concert in St. Domnius! And, oddly enough, the 2024 VT Euromeet will be held in Kotor with a pre-meet being held in Split and visiting surroundings, i.e., Salona & Trogir. Since I've been to those beautiful places already, I'm considering a trip elsewhere if at all possible! Happy New Year and Happy Travels in 2024!!
31st December 2023

Memories
Ah, thanks Sylvia. Really nice to hear that this trip has brought back memories for you. Yes, I'm certainly doing a lot of travelling at the moment, I do feel very blessed. I'm finding it tricky keeping up with the blog writing for it, but thoroughly enjoying it. I'm currently spending a week in Albania and am really enjoying it here too. Blogs also to come! Nice to hear about the upcoming VT meeting. Happy New Year 2024 to you too, and hope you get to do some travelling soon. All the best 😊
31st December 2023

PS
PS Yes indeed, my next blog entry on this trip will be from the Plitvice Lakes - good guess! The impromptu A Capella concert in St Domnius must have been amazing!
3rd January 2024

Wow what a place! I’ve been really enjoying Roman ruins lately and naive me didn’t realize how far reaching they were. Croatia too! I have a friend who’s entire family live in Split, I’ve been invited to stay with them. Hopefully I’ll get there one of these days! Have fun in Zagreb!
4th January 2024

Roman Ruins
I love Roman ruins too, I can't get enough of them! And they are indeed so widespread, that's something else I find so amazing about them. I highly recommend a trip to Split, and Croatia too. So much to see and explore there, and an added bonus if you have a friend there too. This trip was actually from October! I'm just back today from a week in Albania. I'm still catching up with my blog writing, lol! Albania blog entries will be coming soon 😊
5th January 2024
Tusculum

I have never been to Split
I have visited Croatia twice, both times only very briefly. I have not yet visited Split, but I can see that it is a place worth visiting. Sorry about the less than optimal weather when you were there. /Ake
5th January 2024
Tusculum

Split
Thanks for reading and commenting on my blogs Ake! I think if you're ever back in Croatia, Split would be a good place to visit. Though I imagine there are also lots of other amazing places in this lovely country. I didn't mind the weather actually, it kept the tourists at bay, and certainly made Salona more atmospheric.
5th January 2024

excellent blog
As always, I enjoy reading your blogs! You inspire me to travel again!
5th January 2024

Thanks Samuel
Thank you Samuel. I do hope you get to travel again.

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 18; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0271s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb