Travel to Dobrovnik, Uncertainty and Pure Delight


Advertisement
Croatia's flag
Europe » Croatia » Dalmatia » Dubrovnik
September 20th 2019
Published: September 20th 2019
Edit Blog Post

Started the day at 5:30 am with an email asking to ring my travel agent. BAD NEWS! The company my Croatian travels has been booked through has gone into receivership overnight. Won’t know anymore until I arrive in Dubrovnik and check in to see if pre-payment has been made. If so all will be ok. If not my organised travel is void. A waiting game ........?.

Arrived in Croatia. The mountains as we came into land reminded me a little of the Atlas Mountains in Morocco- rugged with villages nestled in the flat area at the bottom and the water a beautiful turquoise. Driving from the airport takes your breathe away as you come around the corner and see Dubrovnik with the water your guide all the way.

I discover at the airport that the company in receivership has done a runner with my money and I have to pay for all my bookings again- a 40 year old company gone bust! So lovely Nicole meets me at the hotel and I pay a second time over hoping I can retrieve my payment first time.

It’s a basic room but right on the water with its own beach and a short bus ride from the Old Town. Location is everything. I could easily stay here for several weeks and just chill. Nicole sends me on a short walk to a great sunset spot to have a bite to eat (I’ve eaten very little all day passing through airports) and a nice glass of wine to watch the sunset.Very hilly and mountain goat territory but will improve my fitness. It’s time to sit back with the sea breeze blowing on my face and watch the sunset.... I’m here, holiday is paid for AGAIN! And I’m going to enjoy this last leg of my trip.

Met a lovely English couple from Cambridge and joined them for a drink and sunset beauty. Lovely couple.

Tomorrow is definitely a swim in 23 degree water (horrible stoney beach ?so will have to buy some thongs ) on my doorstep and explore the Old Town. My white bod will stand out amongst the leathery tanned European bodies that have clearly been here a while. ??‍♀️. Dobrovnik is going to be a chilled time after a bit of a stressful day not knowing what would happen. Very meditative by the sea watching the sunset. ???


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement




23rd September 2019

Travel to Dobrovnik, Uncertainty and Pure Delight
Unfortunate the company receivership doing a runner. You have the ability to overcome any adversity. Your smiling face and pictures of the riverview, Sunset is pure beauty. The sunset picture with the glass of wine took my breath away. Photographer skills at their best. Croatia looks lovely. All the best as you continue and hoping no more runners. Hope the thongs helped with the stoney beach. Cheers. Anne

Tot: 0.035s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0172s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb