Thank you Budapest


Advertisement
Hungary's flag
Europe » Hungary » Central Hungary » Budapest
September 19th 2019
Published: September 20th 2019
Edit Blog Post

Slow start, breakfast and then a bus to the Fine Arts Gallery. Then back to , the city station. Which is an amazing old building that I’m sure could tell many a story. Not the one I arrived at. Budapest has 2 very large stations of different eras. But both old to anyone from Australia. I love the way the Europeans called something ‘new’ that is still very old to us. For some things they say, ‘new old’. A lot of homeless/beggars are in this area. Every city I’ve been to has had it homeless people or beggars but some seem more hidden in their city that others. Budapest’s homeless people have been more obvious as I’ve wandered around. More beggars also. I’m not sure what that means or if there are more but that’s how I observed it. But what has been common is that they all hang their head in shame, just like home. I have also wondered how they go in these cities in winter snow. Clearly governments need to be doing more everywhere in the world.

Back on the bus and headed back to the hotel. Need to check in online for tomorrow ‘s flight to Dobrovnik and buy some luggage allowance. Czech Airlines portal is hopeless. Checked in but luggage issue unresolved. You are only allowed 1 carry on including your handbag. It also costs more to do it at the airport than online. But my inability to do it online means I may have to suck it up unless I can look VERY sad! So I need to reshuffle luggage to check in a second bag to ensure there are no essentials in it. So my last afternoon in Budapest has been somewhat domesticated with these tasks.

Eventually I get time for one last walk to soak up the beauty of Budapest and in this instance, Pest and finish with a coffee in my local neighbourhood looking at the dome of the Basilica as I sip away.

Then a final night out to dinner at my preferred gluten free restaurant ‘Drop’ for a meal. They didn’t disappoint. There meals have all been amazing.

The manager talks me into trying the only dessert I haven’t had (there are only 3 and I haven’t had one every night). This is a Hungarian dessert so how could I refuse. A trio of small half mound chocolate sponge cakes soaked in rum and filled with a white gooey mixture and covered in chocolate. And goodness me... it was the best one. And topped off with a Baileys to close off my time here. Just as well I’ll be leaving too early for breakfast in the morning. I don’t think I’ll be hungry for at least 24 hours.

And so ends my time in Budapest. Five days of wonderful experiences and I’m guessing a couple of kilos. Thanks Budapest!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



23rd September 2019

Thank you Budapest
Like your last supper. Impressive train station. Keep well as you continue your journey. Your feet have travelled far and wide. The observations of the homeless, beggars in all the cities you have visited. Can't imagine the conditions for these people in the winter, cold months. Regards Anne

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0521s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb