D14: Sleepy Zagreb


Advertisement
Croatia's flag
Europe » Croatia » Central Croatia » Zagreb
July 14th 2013
Published: July 14th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Croatia is a cool place.

Lazy morning getting my things in order - needed to do laundry (ugh the worst pack of backpacking, let me tell you), buy bus tickets to Plitvice and train tickets to Budapest. So lazy, but productive.

The walk to the bus station was beautiful in it's own way. There was no one out - Sunday seems to be very dead here in Zagreb. Ghost town-esque. Stores are mostly closed and even a lot of restaurants are closed too. Odd. Anyway, the road to the station has a long wall with graffiti all over, so I was quite content snapping away my photos.

After that I pretty much spent my day wandering towards the Upper and Lower Towns. Very very quiet... again, must be because it's Sunday. (Hoping it's a little livelier later in the week!) At least the nice thing about wandering here is their bus and tram system is so well designed worse comes to worse I jump on one and it'll take me back to somewhere I recognize. Ah, tourist friendly transportation systems, I love you.

So yes, saw a lot of great architecture, churches, the cathedral and monuments today. I had wanted to start with a museum but because it's Sunday they close at 1pm... not enough time to properly appreciate.

The cathedral was really beautiful - my timing was perfect as just as I was finishing a huge tour group came in... not that there is ever a good place to get stuck with a large tour group, but let me tell you a church is just about the worst place. Very much ruins the atmosphere. So yes, good timing to get there while things were still quiet. I lit my candles for my grandparents, as I always do, and that was that.

(Sidenote: for some reason on this trip all the hostels and ticket people are assuming I'm French because of my name... I don't know why it's sitting so wrong with me haha. I keep forcefully saying no... French Canadian. This is becoming a "are you American" thing for me - it's not that I have anything against the French or Americans but I am not them.)

(Sidenote to sidenote: I don't think anything will ever beat "Desjardons" lol. Oh Scotland.)

So yes, that was my day. Very easy peasy.

Oh! Almost forgot. I make a point of trying a doner kebab pretty much in every country because it's always interesting to see the regional variations... and they're cheap, so, you can't go wrong with that. I had one today with cold corn on it... that is certainly something new I haven't seen before. It was good, I guess. I mean I like corn, but not something I would normally associate with a doner kebab.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0241s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb