Arrived in one piece...barely


Advertisement
Croatia's flag
Europe » Croatia » Central Croatia » Zagreb
July 1st 2006
Published: July 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

ZagrebZagrebZagreb

Street view
Renta and I are hanging out at the internet cafe in downtown Zagreb. Its really hot out today now. Want to hear about my trip here? Sure ya do. When I landed in Toronto we couldnt get off the plane because of a storm. I waited in that bloody plane for three hours. When I finally got off I had 15 min. to get to the next flight here. Needless to say my luggage didnt make it on with me. Now I have one underwear and one sock to get me by until it gets here. Oh well. Jon will like this: Evian water in Vienna is 1.50 euro. Beer is 1 euro. Beer is officially cheaper than water. I noticed in Vienna, everyone was drinking Red Bull. I guess it really is that popular in Europe.

We're staying in Zagreb with Renata's friend Ivona and her family. We're in a little room off of the main house on a balcony, which is really hard to describe but very cool. So far today we've been wandering around Zagreb checking out some stores. I'm a little concerned that if I need to repurchase all of my clothing it's going to cost me a lot of money since there appears to be no such thing as a department store in Zagreb. Everything is boutique - even the underwear.

So far Croatia's been pretty exciting - there are tons of people walking around in the square, and there's a great vibe downtown with the Eastern Europe meets West look to the place. Nobody's has spotted me as a clueless tourist yet - even in Austria I was addressed in German first. I guess my attempts to blend in have worked. Except when I open my mouth I suppose.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Ice CreamIce Cream
Ice Cream

If you don't eat some of the fantasic (and cheap!) ice cream in Croatia then you just wasted your trip. Seriously, it's amazing.
CathedralCathedral
Cathedral

The spires of the Cathderal of St. Stephen tower over the city. It's constantly being repaired due to it's age as you can see.
Art PavilionArt Pavilion
Art Pavilion

This is the Art Pavilion, facing onto the square Trg Kralja Tomislava, dedicated to the first Croatian king Tomislava.
Brothel SuitesBrothel Suites
Brothel Suites

Renata and Ivona hanging out in the entrance to Ivona's boyfriends's apartment in downtown Zagreb. I'm told the building used to be a brothel before it was converted. That's an interesting piece of history.


6th July 2006

Fashion File
If you're really desparate, the sock could double as a second set of underwear. You're in Europe now, it's ok!
21st August 2006

I will give you .75 EU for every beer you bring back

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0437s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb