Out to Sea


Advertisement
Croatia's flag
Europe » Croatia » Dalmatia
July 7th 2006
Published: July 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Sunny DaySunny DaySunny Day

Thought we should add a pic of the typical sunny days in Baska Voda, rather than the one cloudy day.
Sorry guys for no updates, we have been at the resort town of Baska Voda for 4 days with no internet. Its kind of like going to the lake in Canada but with more nightclubs on the beach, no bugs, and topless women everywhere. For serious. Weather was pretty good but it did rain really hard one day. No biggie. We got a killer deal on the Villa we stayed in - 20 euros a night, because renata knew them. Did you know its a Croatian tradition to start the day with a shot of vodka? I know now. I also had an interesting walnut liqueur, and great croatian beer. A huge bottle is about $2, and they were shocked at how expensive it was in canada. We mostly just tanned, ate home made doughnuts, and slept. It was great! Ill try to get some pics up from our hostel in Munich, which we leave for on Sunday. I'm fairly certain I was the only Canadian in the town, and pretty sure I was the only non European. The main tourists were German and Austrian, and we saw a few Brits on the bus there, but they were heading to Dubrovnik.
VillasVillasVillas

Street view of the various Villas in the town.
This was a great experience to see how people in Croatia go on vacation. We did meet up with some friends of Renata's from the U.S. who used to live in Croatia, and met one expat Croatian from Australia - these were the only people who spoke english. I had one funny experience in line at the little grocery where we bought lunch one day - we were about to pay for the food when the cashier sent Renata back to weigh her bananas on the scale and record the number. So I'm standing there trying to decipher my Kunas from my Lipas and the cashier needs to make some change. I'm not sure how I knew, since she asked me in Croatian, but I just knew she wanted some coins so I held out my hand with all my change and let her pick through it. Like an idiot. Haha. I didn't say anything so she must have just thought I was bad at math.

So Jill says Andy tried to kill her on Canada day? Im not surprised, Andys been looking to move up in the family for awhile now. Oh, and Brett, were sitting right
Baska VodaBaska VodaBaska Voda

The coast
next door to the Volkswagen Cafe in downtown Split, I thought you might have an orgasm about that one. And for all those wondering, yes I got my luggage back finally. Austrian airlines was very efficient about it, but when they delivered it to the Croatian airport I had to physically drive down there and find the bag myself. It wasn't in their record books, which was an actual paper book believe it or not. It's all good now. Well I should update again soon, keep posting comments guys and Ill send a personal email to those who've sent one when internet isn't so expensive. You're not worth 5 kuna! haha just kidding, but not really. Ciao!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Mountain ViewMountain View
Mountain View

Beautiful
Fruit BoatFruit Boat
Fruit Boat

This man will pull up onto the beach and sell you the greatest fresh fruit. A must see.


5th August 2006

wow
what i would GIVE to be in cro right now. i envy you.
21st August 2006

please post pictures of the topless people

Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0405s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb