Croatia: Plitvic National Park & Zagreb


Advertisement
Published: January 16th 2016
Edit Blog Post

There is a lot to love about Croatia. This is in my Top 5 favorite European countries to visit, so I will try to help you understand why this little place is so incredible.

The first cool thing about Croatia is that it is the childhood home of Nikola Tesla. The next cool thing is that they still use their own currency, the Kuna, and not the Euro. Their capital city, Zagreb is smaller and cleaner than many other capital cities. The design is very old-fashioned with the layout revolving around the city center. Although, there is much more green space planned throughout the small city than one would expect.

Another reason this place is awesome is because the weather is semi-tropical, so it’s great year-round. Also, there are hundreds of islands to skirt away to off the extremely large coastline, which is filled with beachfront communities. Oh, did I mention Dubrovnik is where they film Game of Thrones? (#Nerds) 😉

The main reason I came to Croatia was to visit this magical, fantastical land of Plitvic National Park. I saw how Rick Steves loved his stroll along the catwalks over the lakes, surrounded by waterfalls and decided that was exactly what I wanted to spend time doing. I only said ‘WOW’ about every four or five minutes… There is a TV show in Korea where a Korean woman is in love with, and living with a Croatian dude, so there is an unreal amount of Korean tourists in Croatia. I thought that was pretty cool when the tour guide at Plitvic National Park explained that they come for the Croatian men, while grinning widely. Hahaha :D Yeah, women travel for the men, of course, sure… lol as if :D

I loved how the prices were fair, as they are in Hungary, so my money went far. I enjoyed a pulled pork sandwich that was—dare I say it—better than any I’ve had back home in the states. I think that says a lot, considering I know my BBQ and there have been plenty of epically failed attempts over here that left me disappointed. I liked it so much I ended up staying another day. The plan was to take photos in the city, but it was raining, so some of the hostel mates and I played Oregon Trail and had a good time exchanging stories.

I really loved this place and would love to go back anytime!


Additional photos below
Photos: 41, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0602s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb