Boring...Sofia.


Advertisement
Bulgaria's flag
Europe » Bulgaria » Sofia City » Sofia
August 2nd 2007
Published: August 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The gate to Bulgaria!The gate to Bulgaria!The gate to Bulgaria!

On the bridge from Romania to Bulgaria!
Finally arrived in Sofia..

It was like, 10:30pm and I was at the train station, hoping for someone to pick me up. BUT, noone showed up.
So, I was about to get a taxi when they overpriced me! so I decided to take the tram.

I have directions to the hostel I wanted to go, but, couldn't find the station to take it!! so asked for help and suprisingly!! I asked these Bulgarian women, which cannot speak a word of English, but was so kind to take me to the tramstop!!!! So nice ne!!!!

Anyways, got to the Hostel and its FULLLLLLLLLL >___<" They sent me off to another hostel close-by..
ahhhhh....its ok...but like..10x not as good..-___-" no choice anyways. The owner was really nice at least=)

So spent a night and the next day, took the bus to Rila Monastary. I heard before that we needa change buses and stuff. Luckily! The bus I took was full of tourists and it went directly to the monastery and back!!! haa..jiang!!! Rila Monastery....very touristy, but still quite peaceful. A small street at the back that lead to the river and stuff....pretty nice.=)
It was a big monastery....seems like
Rila MonastaryRila MonastaryRila Monastary

Big Beautiful Monastary! Very touristy though.....but walking around it is still nice and peaceful.=)
its been rennovated or sth....hummm.. I do prefer the Romanian ones.

Anyways, spent 2 hours there and then back to Sofia. dead tired. Met some Dutch and British at the hostel..seems like Dutch travellers are the party gang as well....ahh....weird to talk to them..-___-"

Next morning, walked around the city centre...went into the National Art Gallery and the Ethnographical museum...pretty good....^^"

then took the bus to Plovdiv! The bus station was so nice and easy! and WOW...so many international lines actually!..Sofia is a nice hub to go around ne!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Rila Monastary 2Rila Monastary 2
Rila Monastary 2

The wall of the devils' action!...looks coool though!^^"
Rila Monastary 3Rila Monastary 3
Rila Monastary 3

more nice photos of it=)
Old Monastary Kitchen!Old Monastary Kitchen!
Old Monastary Kitchen!

This is the chimney for the kitchen! it looks nice actually! haaaa..
Traffic light!Traffic light!
Traffic light!

How e asy is that? with the arrow, no more guessing if you can turn or not!!=)
some art piecessome art pieces
some art pieces

one of my favourites in Sofia..
Nicolas Church...i think.Nicolas Church...i think.
Nicolas Church...i think.

Nice big church in the centre...
Oh My..!Oh My..!
Oh My..!

I love this one! haaaa!
Interesting UniformInteresting Uniform
Interesting Uniform

For the guards....looks good actually! have a very traditional style to it!=)


Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 14; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0418s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb