Come! Come!


Advertisement
Bulgaria's flag
Europe » Bulgaria » Plovdiv Province » Plovdiv
July 10th 2009
Published: July 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The kids have calmed down a bit since we began... or maybe I'm just getting used to it, I'm not sure haha.

It's funny because that's the one English word they ALL know how to say - COME, COME! A couple know please which is nice, but very often you just have them run up to you, take a flying leap for your chest or just grab your hand and pull - come, come! Come, come!

Yesterday morning we played outside as per usual - it was too cute. There's one kid that's clearly the leader of the bunch; he's a total ham, but at the same time he's responsable and the one kid that always listens to us. He decided we had to do relay races again (like we'd done on Wednesday), so he organized it all, drew the circles on the ground and everything. Yes kid! It didn't last long considering their attention spans are quite limited, but that's ok.

(Why am I having Michaud flashbacks? "You guys have the attention span of newts!!")

Things got interesting when the brothers tried to escape. The older one managed to - they literally scale walls and just run out! One of the guys had to go for a nice chase around the block to catch him, while one of the girls and myself guarded the wall from the younger brother. As soon as big bro was back, lil bro stopped trying though - typical sibling stuff.

A bunch of the kids started climbing the soccer nets which is fine. They wanted to stand on our shoulders to get even higher/it's easier for them to then swing over. I thought I'd be smart, so I turned around to face them. Bad idea. Instead of my back and neck, they used my chest for leverage. Nice.

In the afternoon we brought them all these little musical instruments, so we got quite the concert. It wasn't too bad w/ the recorder things and clappers, the worst were the horns - especially when you'd get them in the ears!! Haha. Ouch. Or when they'd throw them at you, also ouch.

I went to jail a few times - one of the kids decided I needed to be locked up and would drag me into another room before I'd make my daring escape and race back to the living
Chalk and plantChalk and plantChalk and plant

The kids take pictures of EVERYTHING. I have at least 100 pictures of the tv, I have every drawing and decoration in the room, and everything from outside. Sillies.
room. He had fun w/ that. They also seem to enjoy pillow fights, well, you hold a pillow while they bombard you w/ other pillows and toys. The best is when you react w/ fear (ie when they throw something that's hard) - then they all burst out laughing. Little buggers.

Today we spent the morning playing different ball games - some football/soccer, some volleyball etc. I actually spent most of the morning babysitting my camera. The responsible kid was sad b/c our campleader was inside and he wanted to see her, so I gave him my camera to keep himself occupied. He's too good w/ it too - after every picture he wants to show you. They're all like that actually - they're so proud of the photos they take, it's hilarious! And they like to pose you too; they'll be like "COME!" to random people, and get us to do stuff. It's cute. We've taught a bunch of them how to do self-portraits too haha. And we've taught them props - all very important things.

My camera was then passed along to the older bro, who then passed it to his youngest bro - while he was still on top of the soccer net. I was like 'oh dear God, do not throw it' haha. He was good though - he even put it in his pocket when he climbed down to make sure he didn't break it. Cute. The lil bro isn't as good w/ the camera, but he has fun, so why not?

I'm not sure what we're doing w/ them this afternoon, but it'll be sad b/c this is goodbye for this group. They're leaving for a camp on Saturday, so we won't see them again. There's one boy in particular that is always attached to one of the British girls - he's going to be devastated. Sad.

As for us volunteers, we've been having fun around town too. Last night we went to the mall - pretty decent sized for the town - and to the movies. Proposal is super funny, I really enjoyed it. Tonight we're planning on hitting the town up and going out for some drinks. Weekend is here - time to relax and enjoy.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.429s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.1389s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb