2 WEEKS almost


Advertisement
Belgium's flag
Europe » Belgium » Hainaut » Charleroi
August 31st 2008
Published: August 31st 2008
Edit Blog Post

hello everyone,
Yesterday and today were the first hot days ive had in belgium,
ive been taking advantage of it today and did a little sun tanning which was relaxing. Today is the first day where i have done absloutely nothing which is good for me cuz ive been busy for a while.
Yesterday was the welcome meeting for all exchange people in my district, its was pretty boring but after i got to talk to all the exchange people ang got lots of numbers so we can organize things to do together. I found out that my host club is meeting next week and i have four other exchnage people in my club so im happy im not the only one. Ive meet all of them and there all girls and are really nice.
After the welcome meeting i watched My third family host brother Laurice play soccer they won 5-0 and after wards i went out for chinese food with his family. Serge and Katey is the mother and father and they have three sons the oldest Laurice is my age and is in the some grade ans same school as me which i might have already said. There my last family im living with and its going to be weird living around that many guys.
Wednesday, thurs, and friday night i spent at my friend,s julies house.
On wednesday i went to Brussels for another Rotary event. I saw the Grand palice, the Grand Place, and the Maniken piece which is a statue of a little boy that pees...its famous apparently. I also touched this statue that is supposed to give you good look for a year so i hope it works. Anyway it was really fun except my feet really hurt afterwards. They told us to dress nice to Brussles so i wore highheels and we ended up walking for an hour on the uneven side walks...my shoes got all scuffed up. Side walks are not like the ones in Canada here.
I already have done 2 faux pas in Belgium so far.-embarrsing
The first i was in Brussles and i wanted to try my fist gauffe-belgium waffle. So i pointed to the one i want cuz they had them i thought already made and i paid for it and took it and started eating. The shop keeper looked horified and i found out what i was eating they had made hours earlier for display....she handed my my new hot gauffe and i slured out Desolee and got out of there as fast as i could....Julie and the other exchange people with me thought it was funny anyway.
The second i was again with Julie buying somthing to drink at a video rentel store. I took out a ice tea and started drinking while walking to the counter to pay for it, but apparently this is bad in belgium and the shop keeper told me that i cant drink it till i get outside...so there you go tipical becca.....
Anyays now i know.
Other food i have tried is Belgium fries-really good, this fish stew also good and my first duck.
Anyways i am happy and well and my french is slowly improving every day.
A bientot-till next time
becca xoxoxo

Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0496s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb