Where Have I Been Living?


Advertisement
Belgium's flag
Europe » Belgium » East Flanders » Gent
January 24th 2006
Published: February 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hostel De DraeckeHostel De DraeckeHostel De Draecke

The lobby of the hostel.
OK, so I've been over here for almost three weeks now, and I bet you are wondering where I've been sleeping all this time. Well, I'm currently on my third dominion, and I'll try to describe each of them to you now.

My first two weeks in Gent were spent in the Hostel De Draecke (see journal entry "Biorenewable Materials Intensive Program" for more details).

While I was staying at the hostel I was looking for a more permanent place to live. Fortunately I found an apartment relatively quickly, but I was not able to move in until a few days after I left the hostel. I could have stayed at the hostel for a few more nights, but I was getting sick of rooming with three other people. Luckily I met someone who had a friend, who had a friend, who had a...you get the idea. Anyway, this friend had a home in Gent and occasionally rented out a room to wayward travelers while they were looking for a place to live. So I ended up staying with Kristel for a few nights. She was very nice and had a cozy home quite near the university. She let
My Room in the HostelMy Room in the HostelMy Room in the Hostel

There's the door.
me stay on the top floor of her house, and even made me some tea one night. It was really nice to finally get a little bit of privacy, but I still wasn't settled. I still had all of my worldly possessions in a duffel bag/suitcase.

Which was why I was very happy to to move into my apartment. I could finally unpack my luggage, put away my clothes (living out of a suitcase sucks), relax, and get settled. I really like my place. It has wood floors, high ceilings, and a nice bay window with a view out over a small park. The only downside is that while I have my own shower, I share a common toilet with some of the other residents. Let me explain a little. Many of the homes in Gent, especially in the city center, are very tall and narrow. There can be anywhere from 3-5 floors with a room on each. A lot of these buildings, like the one I live in, have been turned into rental property. People like me rent out a single room, and share some common facilities such as a kitchen, bathroom, etc., with some of the other
My Room in the HostelMy Room in the HostelMy Room in the Hostel

There's where Scott and Kerry slept.
tenants.

I really like the area of the city where I'm living. I have a bus stop about 20 feet from my front door, and the bus goes directly to the train station (which is extremely convenient for my commute to Brussels). The public library is about a half a mile away, and is directly across from a big shopping center. The University building where I have my classes is only about a 15 minute bike ride away. Overpoortstraat, where all the students hang out, is only about 5 minutes away. And the older, more quaint part of the city is about 10-15 minutes away.

I think it's funny that I live on...I'm not going to post my address on the web. But I'll give you a hint. Out of all the streets in Gent, I find it ironic that I end up living on a street named after an American President. Maybe it was meant to be.

P.S. - The photos of my apartment are from right after I moved in. I have since rearranged the furniture, and acquired a bed frame, so things are a little more cozy. I'll update the pictures as soon as
My Room in the HostelMy Room in the HostelMy Room in the Hostel

The little desk (that's my pack on the floor).
I can.


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

My Room in the HostelMy Room in the Hostel
My Room in the Hostel

I'm on the bottom bunk.
Kristel's PlaceKristel's Place
Kristel's Place

The mattress where I stayed for a few nights.
Kristel's PlaceKristel's Place
Kristel's Place

She was kind enough to let me unload my stuff in her living area.
Kristel's PlaceKristel's Place
Kristel's Place

The stairs going down. They were extremely steep and narrow. I had to put my bag on my back and go down backwards.
Kristel's PlaceKristel's Place
Kristel's Place

Thanks Kristel!
My New CasaMy New Casa
My New Casa

Mine is the bay window on the second floor, directly above the person walking.
My New CasaMy New Casa
My New Casa

The stairs leading up from the front door.
My New CasaMy New Casa
My New Casa

Well, there's the furniture that I have, and the bay window. Please don't judge me based on my untidiness. I just moved in, give me a break already.
My New CasaMy New Casa
My New Casa

My desk and night stand.
My New CasaMy New Casa
My New Casa

My bathroom and gas furnace. The furnace is really nice. I sit in the green chair and read a book with my feet in front of the fire.
My New CasaMy New Casa
My New Casa

My kitchen.
My New CasaMy New Casa
My New Casa

My metro light fixture.
My New CasaMy New Casa
My New Casa

A closeup of my kitchen.
My New CasaMy New Casa
My New Casa

A closeup of my bathroom.
My New CasaMy New Casa
My New Casa

Looking left out my bay window.
My New CasaMy New Casa
My New Casa

Looking straight out my bay window.
My New CasaMy New Casa
My New Casa

Looking to the right out my bay window.
Chickens?Chickens?
Chickens?

Why is there a rooster in the park across from my apartment?


21st February 2006

your home away from home
I like it - your Mom feels better - it looks comfortable and cozy - and roomy enough for visitors! And you must take me to the pet market so I can get gifts for Pyle and Sunny and Xena. Miss you

Tot: 0.035s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.016s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb