Last night away from home


Advertisement
Belgium's flag
Europe » Belgium » Brussels-Capital Region » Brussels
August 25th 2011
Published: August 25th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Well getting to the end of our first ever road trip and it has been amazing. I am proud that I have driven across Europe - think we up to about 3000 kms - with no major hiccups (getting lost and caught in traffic was expected..) I think Sam has learn so much without even realising - he is confident and even tries to say merci and danke... ! We had a bit of a heart to heart last night and he confessed that he feels lonely for children's company as he hasn't talked to any kids for over 3 weeks now. I hadn't expected that he would feel like that but can understand how he feels.

Brussels is a cool city - we are staying right near the Grand Place - the main market square so have spent the day wandering and enjoying the outdoor cafe culture. The weather has been fantastic and I even have a sun tan to go home with and haven't seen a beach in weeks.

I know it's time to go home - money and clean undies are running out. I once heard the best travel advice - your underwaer id always cleaner on the outside.

Funny how priorities change though - I enjoy a bit of luxury and didn't like the tiny claustrophobic cabin in the Botel last night and I wouldn't dream of wearing the same underwear turned inside out....must be getting old. The buzz of new places and the sense of achievement of plotting progress on a map hasn't chaanged though and I hope I can influence Sam to explore this beautiful world we live in.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.232s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0483s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb