Social Handicap


Advertisement
Belgium's flag
Europe » Belgium » Brussels-Capital Region » Brussels
November 16th 2006
Published: November 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

"Beer is our local culture. Support the culture."

Beer is not just a drink in Europe, its a way of life. Europeans are actually required to drink a minimum of three beers a day here. It is custom is to imbibe at least one drink before dinner (in conjunction with the oft-heard phrase, "meet me for drinks in the conservatory at 7), as well as partake in a drink during dinner, and finish with a sweet port or go for "after dinner drinks" later in the evening. This is a massive problem for someone who hates the taste of beer. However, there are ways around this.

We had just arrived in Brugge and went down to visit the hostel pub. Adam and I chatted about what to see in the city when the guy next to us offered up his french fries. Being that french fries were supposedly invented in Belgium (contrary to the name) we felt it was an offer we couldnt refuse. This sparked a three hour long conversation with a traveling carpenter who seemed to have a wealth of information on beer. He recommended a few, then ordered us a round of drinks.
Traditional gift on Dec 6!Traditional gift on Dec 6!Traditional gift on Dec 6!

We came down for breakfast and were warmly greeted by St Nicholas and his helper!
There I was, sitting in a smoky pub with an enormous glass of Leffe in front of me, completely incapable of fully accepting this mans generosity. As each moment passed, the glass seemed to grow more full. I politely sipped on it; trying to cover my grimace each time I pulled the glass from my lips. The evening was far from over and I felt I had no other choice.
In a moment that he wasnt looking, I covertly slid the glass over to Adam, who gratefully accepted. It was in that moment that I discovered framboise.

It is a sweet, lighter drink than the vile, frothy liquid known as beer. I can sip happily on a glass while others around me swig blondes and ales. In local pubs I have sipped apple, raspberry, peach and cherry framboise. They may still be considered girly beers, but I like to think of it as expanding my palette and overcoming my social handicap. The Belgians do it best. This tiny country has been swinging as the pendulum of land between France and the Netherlands for centuries. The Belgians finally became their own country after a battle that resulted from a moving opera scene about independence. Belgium now is known for "the muscles from Brussels" (aka Jean Claude van Daame), chocolates, waffles, beer, and the tiny boy statue Mannekin Pis.



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



17th November 2006

Hooray for Girlie Beers!
Hey Rachel; I love reading your blog, your descriptions are wonderful and the pictures are awesome! I feel like we're traveling with you. I like framboise too...but I also kinda like beer...mostly the lagers. Emily and Joseph say hello (Joseph is planning a trip to Antarica!...he'll be taking Adam's penquin!)
21st November 2006

Sinterklaas ;)
Hi Rachel; I send you a link with more info in English about Saint Nicholas (Sinterklaas in Dutch) http://www.thehollandring.com/sinterklaas.shtml Hope you have a nice stay in France! We'll keep in touch !

Tot: 0.189s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 71; dbt: 0.0724s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb