Time to go home


Advertisement
Belgium's flag
Europe » Belgium » Brussels-Capital Region » Brussels
October 16th 2014
Published: April 15th 2018
Edit Blog Post

We awoke at 6am and left the hotel a little after 7. I check our flight one last time and it was still fine. There were 23 open seats in business class and 7 open in economy. We walked the short walk to Brussels Centraal station and got the train to the airport. Once there, we checked in and went to wait by the gate for our seat assignments. I could not get on the wifi very well so I could not monitor the seats. I am glad I was not able to see because the flight fell apart fast. The Brussels to Atlanta flight was running 3 hours behind and so they moved some people to our New York flight. It filled up quickly, and not only were we lucky to get business class, but we were lucky to even get on at all. It would have been ok though because we would have just went to Atlanta instead if needed. We did clear for business class to New York and I was in seat 8C, with the girls behind me this time, in seats 9B and 9C. Delta 409 to New York departed on time and it was mostly smooth on the 767-300 aircraft. I had a beef meal and 5 gin and tonics. I watched the movies "The Big Lebowski" and "Rio". I had seen both but never tire of watching them. After that I took a short nap. About 1 hour before landing, I awoke for the light snack of a shrimp salad. It was quite good. We arrived into JFK airport about 30 minutes ahead of schedule, and once there, we cleared customs and immigration quickly.

We would only be here for about an hour, but saw that our flight to Indy was delayed. We ended up finally departing almost 2 hours late. It was ok though because we cleared for first class. The girls were in seats 1B and 1C and I was in 2C. I had a couple of beers on the 2 hour trip aboard the Delta Connection CRJ-700 aircraft.

We landed in Indy just before 6pm and headed home, but not before stopping for a quick dinner.

It was wonderful to see our friends in Basingstoke again, and after only a year. It was also amazing to see Brussels again after 21 years. Like I said, it has changed for the better. The girls liked it too. We will be back to both places as soon as we can!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0773s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb