Day 3 Innsbruck


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria
May 26th 2012
Published: May 26th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Today we started with a quiet morning, having fruit, rolls and scrambled egg at my hotel. The reception staff are getting sick of me asking for hot water to make cups of tea in my room, the latest request was at 3am! Kettles are not supplied in the rooms ( Hotel Maximilian).Dan was itching to get into the mountains for a hike, so after locating a laundromat and settling me down to wait, he set off to scale the nearest snow-capped peaks. Amazingly he hiked for 4 hours and reached a distant high set mountain hut.

My endeavours were more modest, and after trying to break the world record for talking both on the phone and skype to my lover, I eventually set out for a very late lunch at a nearby pizzeria. After ordering a slice of pizza I was served a whole one all to myself and ate the lot, relishing the thin crust, tangy tomato sauce and melting cheese all washed down with a glass of Austrian red wine.

Wandering the streets, I took in the beautiful vista of the snow capped mountains at every street corner and the throngs of tourists and locals enjoying the outdoor eating areas, consuming streudel, coffee, pizza and beer. It is amusing to watch as the local cars and taxis negotiate even the most narrow side streets, fully expecting everyone to make way or be run over.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.356s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.1591s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb