Ferrara italy


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria
May 23rd 2011
Published: May 23rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Some things I have learned so far:
Apparently I speak Spanish. I didnt know this . I am translating many thoughts into Spanish, wishing it was Italian. Between the French, Spanish, and two years of Latin,  I can even read  a little Italian too. But Franklin has a greater facility with languages than I and  he is doing most of the  verbal interaction.

Clothes
Everyone's clothes are made in China  so everyone more or less dresses ethe same. 
It is made in China even if the lanel says Made In Italy. However I just bought a blouse at a market from some Koreans. It is Indian style and fabric but the label is written in Hebrew, Italy is checked off and China is crossed out. I can't guess where that was made.
 If they are wearing white athletic shoes they are probably American. A strand of pearls is casual day wear in Italy. European women still do very chic things with scarves. 

I am sitting in a nice little .... Well, I don't know what you call it. It is a tent/bar in a cobblestone covered square across the street from a castle (complete with a moat and drawbridge)  listening to good jazz, drinking decent wine and trying not to have too many free appetizers . Focaccia covered with toppings like anchovy and tomato sauce or mushrooms, salami, zucchini.

Our hotel is ultramodern Italian. Modern leather chair bidet, shower with two heads. It is across the cobblestone square from the castle, offers free iPad use and bicycles (Ferrara is a BIG bike town)

I've always enjoyed the sounds of language some words, some names,just fly off the tongue. Like Joey buttefucco. Italian is full of those kinds of sounds. Tutte la camarre soon non fumatore.

We just had one of the best breakfasts of my life. A buffet at our hotel had apricots, fresh cherries, a nice cheese plate and choice of meats, smoked salmon, caviar, stuffed croissants, choice of crackers for wheat intolerance, eggs and sausages, cereals, yogurt with wonderful marmalades full of fruit like cherry or mandarin.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.26s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0455s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb