Linz to Grien


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria
May 20th 2009
Published: May 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Spent a lot of time in Linz... Found a place to reduce the photos on my camera so I shall now try to down load them.... Problem - I arranged to meet up with Vincent at the internet cafe (but I could not find it)... Why dó so many buidlings and streets look the same????Fabulous ride from Linz to Grien.... I detoured to Mauthausen conentration camp - Cannot really explain the emotion you feel in a place like this... This stands as a dark part of our worlds history that I hope we never see again... It is located high up in the hills from the Danube - A long, slow uphill ride into a very picturesque countryside.... Coming back down (probablý too fast) and tangling with tourist buses etc was an experience....

I am now safer on the road.... Too many years travelling on the other side of the road is a habit hard to break... Have had a few close calls when turing corners, through wierd intersections, one way streets etc and bieng confronted with trucks on narrow lanes... Good Ja!!!

RULE 1: When you are lost (that's me when I frequently travel off the main route) All of the locals believe that the direction they point you shall take you 'dfirectly' to the river - Let me assure you this is BULLSHIT... Every route ends up with various intersections going in every direction exept for the river - with signage (Yeah Right)!!!!

Yesterday was en extra 30km (for the usual reasons) - OKAY, I got friggin lost again!!!!




Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0495s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb