Salzburg


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria
September 8th 2008
Published: September 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The sun has finally made an appearance! In the morning it looked as if it would rain all day again, but as soon as we started our walking tour, the sun came out. Salzburg is absolutely amazing; I definitely like it a lot better than Munich, although Munich was a great city.

Today we went on a tour of the city and saw all of the famous sites, which pretty much comprised of places related to Mozart. Every part of this city is so picturesque; you could be the worst photographer in the world with a disposable camera, and the pictures would turn out amazing because the city is just that beautiful. After the walking tour Kara and I went shopping, and I finally found a comfortable pair of flats after looking in like a dozed stores. I ended up having to go the more expensive route, and found the perfect pair of flats for 40 euros. We're going to a Mozart concert high up in the Salzburg fortress on top of a mountain tomorrow night, and we have to dress up for it. I only brought tennis shoes and flip flops with me, so I definitely needed some nicer shoes, especially for when I start work.

After shopping, Kara and a few others from our group went on The Sound of Music tour! We just got back from it, and it was an amazing time. Even if you didn't like the movie, it is an excellent tour because you get to see so much of the outskirts of Salzburg. We even went up a mountain to a cute little town and had pastries. I'll have to upload some pictures from the tour later, for all of you other Sound of Music fanatics out there. I would say one of the best parts was singing the songs on the bus. Oh yes, we did that.

Well, I'm tired so I think I'm going to go up to my room to read for awhile. I also need to organize some of my stuff. Eight of us girls were all shoved into a tiny room in our hostel, so dealing with all kinds of luggage and such is impossible. I really want to just sleep in the damn hallway. Ah well, we're only here two more nights.

Au revoir.

Advertisement



10th September 2008

Great Stuff Katie
Wow! Katie- Sounds like your having a great time. I love seeing the pics! You have such a heart for the Jewish people and that time period that I am sure the concentration camp was so very moving. Just looking at the pictures was sad I can't imagine being there. It reminded me of the Holocaust Museum and how that made us feel. Looking forward to you next installment. I love you! xoxoxo Mom

Tot: 0.199s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0921s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb