Perhaps the Funniest Story of all Time


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria
September 27th 2005
Published: December 3rd 2005
Edit Blog Post

Austria is a pretty crazy place that is all about protecting the environment. So knowing this it is no surprise that they have six different categories for their trash. There’s paper, plastic, metal, bio (all things that were at one time living…hair, bananas, orange peels and the like), restmüll (everything that doesn’t fit into another category) and problem trash (if after restmüll you still don’t know what to do with it…it’s a problem). Those are just the six main categories, if all else fails and we can’t figure out what pile to put our trash into we can just consult the cliff notes on the back of our bathroom door. Yes, I kid you not, we have Cliff Notes to Austrian Garbage Separation hanging on the back of our door and it’s even color coded!

Tuesdays are trash and room check days. Austria is perhaps the only place in the world where students are required to clean their dorm rooms and have RA’s come around to check and make sure they did it. And it’s not just picking up the floor, it’s hardcore. Weekly we have to scrub down the bathroom: shower, sink, and toilet and make sure it’s clean as all-get-out! These Austrians mean business when it comes to cleaning because for everything in the bathroom we have to clean there is a corresponding cleaner to use on it. This is serious stuff!

Part of having our room checked is hauling all our garbage downstairs and outside to have it sorted into the trash bins. Well one week in particular Coreen and I had just come up from taking out the trash when I realized we had forgotten something.

“Coreen,” I said. “We forgot to take out the bio bin!”

“Oh, it’ll be fine ‘til next week,” Coreen said.

I shrugged and agreed with her. I mean…the bio bin has a lid, so what’s the worst that could happen?!

The next day as I sat at my desk studying I heard Laura, another one of my roommates, in the bathroom saying “Eww…yuck…that is so gross!”

I sat puzzled for a bit about what she was talking about. But then I shrugged it off and went back to studying.

A few minutes later Laura came out of the bathroom and said “There are a ton of bugs in our bio bin!”

I saw this as quite a predicament because it was only Wednesday and there were six more days until we could take our bio bin out again. A solution was needed so I sat there and pondered the situation for a bit.

Finally, I turned to Laura and said “You know...its all biodegradable…so we could probably just throw it out the window!”

Laura agreed and ran to the bathroom to retrieve the bio bin. She brought it over to the window and climbed up on the window sill. It was already dark so I held a flash light as she chucked it out the window.

I thought this was a brilliant idea because our room is on the back of the building facing the woods. I thought the woods would be a great place for our bio bin to decompose.

Little did I know that the woods are not directly behind the building; there is a little patio for all the people who live on first floor.

The next day I was down on first floor working on a group project. When I walked into one of my partner’s room I saw that she had a door leading to the patio.

“Hey! You have a patio!” I said a bit surprised. “Can I go out and look?”

“Sure,” she said and unlocked the door.

I stepped out onto the patio and glanced to my right. Sure enough, there on the ground were the remains of our bio bin. Woops!


Advertisement



5th December 2005

Woops
woops is for sure right and yes it was vey funny

Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 56; dbt: 0.071s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb