A Day in Vienna, Austria


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Vienna
July 6th 2017
Published: July 9th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

A day around Vienna


So it has been exactly one week since we started our tour. I have been to England, France, Belgium, The Netherlands, Germany, Italy, and Austria. So far it has been a great trip. The different cities we stopped and have been wonderful, the food has been great, the atmosphere has been perfect. So today after a wonderful breakfast that would've cost me €38 on my own at the Hilton Vienna, we headed to the Schonbrunn Palace.



Schönbrunn Palace is a former imperial summer residence located in Vienna, Austria. The 1,441-room Baroque palace is one of the most important architectural, cultural, and historical monuments in the country. Since the mid-1950s it has been a major tourist attraction. The history of the palace and its vast gardens spans over 300 years, reflecting the changing tastes, interests, and aspirations of successive Habsburg monarchs.





The palace was only 10 minutes from the hotel so we got there quickly before the rest of the world showed up. We had a wonderful tour director take us around to the different apartments. Unfortunately we could not take pictures of the inside, so you will have to Google it. We then took The bus back to the center of the city for a short bus ride around the ring of Vienna. We then got off the bus and did another short 45 minute tour of the ring of Vienna on foot.





After being released to go to her on her own for the next 3 1/2 hours, I headed to Sawvorski to finish up buying items for the females in my family. Then I remembered I have to get change for the next three countries were going to, So then I went to a money changer business. Since it was early in the afternoon about 1 o'clock, I decided to grab a bite to eat at a little outdoor café. I ate at a restaurant called Chestnut. I got some bruschetta in the Sachor Torte, which is a very popular chocolate cake Austrian dessert. All of it was very good. Ann and Howard joined me midway through my mail and also order the cake. I got my cake finally late so they gave it to me for free. I then headed to the Albertina museum. This museum was once the The home of the Duke Albert and his wife Christina. Houses mini impressionist paintings especially Monet and Picasso. After dealing with a docent who thought my backpack was too big and rectifying the problem by placing it into my Sawvorski bag, I was able to visit the museum. I was able see him many paintings by famous artists on the second floor as well as going to the first floor which post new artwork but I didn't see that. Instead there was two wings still showing how they lived back in the earlier time period. This time I was able take pictures. Well not as impressive as the Schonbrunn, it was very extravagant.





We then boarded the bus to head back to the hotel. I decided to go to Ulla Popken just see if I can get some more shorts or close for the rest of my trip. Anne, a member of our tour group came with me. She is the grandmother of the young man Chase. Using mapquest we tried to get there but got turned around was. So 11 minute walk turned into 20 so we both agreed on the way back that we would get a taxi. After finding two shirts and two pairs of pants for me and Anne got two shirts, the store ordered a taxi for us and we went back to the hotel. I had an enough time to shower and change and get ready for our big Viennese concert.





We boarded the bus and headed to The Kursalon to at a five-star restaurant and then to attend the concert at the same location. It was only eight minutes from our hotel in the city park. After sitting down at the large tables or food was pre-ordered so we had our food almost instantly. There was already sliced bread on the table with a herb cream cheese spread available. Then they brought out the Beef salad that I had ordered. Although it was completely something I would never thought I would eat, it was actually very tasty. The carrot soup was very good which was then followed by the main course. I had a choice of either beef or salmon so of course I went to the beef. The roast beef came out pretty rare so I knew I was going to have to ask it to be sent back. I asked the waitress if she could send it back to be cooked longer, and she gave me an attitude when I asked. I was able to get the sliced beef cooked well and it was very delicious. Then our dessert was served in mine was a curd dumpling with berry sauce. It was OK. So when dinner was finally done we headed up two flights of stairs to reach the concert hall. Myself along with quite a few others thought we were going to be going to a theater type setting. Instead it was a large ballroom with many chairs, no dance floor, and a stage with a very small orchestra. The orchestra came out and played five songs then a short intermission of orange juice or champagne then followed by another five songs. Four to the classical pieces they had a man in the woman ballet dance and then for another two pieces they had in man and a woman that sing opera. From what we were told by the tour director and the written information stated, this did not match what I expected. Not to mention it was not worth the €99 ($120) that it cost. After the concert, we walked through the park back to the hotel.


Additional photos below
Photos: 310, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

IMG_7314IMG_7314
IMG_7314

Schönbrunn Palace Vienna, Austria
IMG_7315IMG_7315
IMG_7315

Schönbrunn Palace Vienna, Austria
IMG_7316IMG_7316
IMG_7316

Schönbrunn Palace Vienna, Austria
IMG_7320IMG_7320
IMG_7320

Schönbrunn Palace Vienna, Austria
IMG_7321IMG_7321
IMG_7321

Schönbrunn Palace Vienna, Austria
IMG_7323IMG_7323
IMG_7323

Schönbrunn Palace Vienna, Austria
IMG_7324IMG_7324
IMG_7324

Schönbrunn Palace Vienna, Austria
IMG_7325IMG_7325
IMG_7325

Schönbrunn Palace Vienna, Austria
IMG_7329IMG_7329
IMG_7329

Schönbrunn Palace Vienna, Austria


Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0306s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb