Day 22, Munich, Germany to Vienna, Austria


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Vienna » Vienna
December 18th 2009
Published: January 4th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Day 22: Friday, December 18th, 2009
Munich, Germany to Vienna, Austria

On our way to Vienna, we stopped at the concentration camp, Mauthausen. It's not really a place where one takes pictures, and I felt wrong taking the five pictures I did take, so I'll only be posting the one picture of the outside. Please go to the above link and read about Mauthausen. I don't even feel like talking about it.

We get to Vienna and our hotel (the "Austria Trend Event Hotel Pyramid") is nice! Yea! It's spacious and warm and the comforters aren't scary. Except for Lauren & Teryn, everyone else has booked the Mozart concert and dinner excursion so they all leave for that (I had booked that excursion but then cancelled considering dinners are wasted on me- Dave was kind enough to reimburse me.) So, the sisters and I didn't have the urge to investigate Vienna just yet, so we headed across the street to the largest mall in Europe, the Grand Central Mall. Our mission: find cold medicine for Teryn, maybe buy some sweaters, and get some dinner. We first stopped at Spar, a grocery type store, and picked up some essentials and munchies, but they didn't carry cold medicine (except Ricola which they kept in the candy aisle.) We finally found a pharmacy and grabbed the drugs and by then we were tired enough that we didn't feel up to sweater shopping. So, we decided to be complete tourists and grabbed McDonald's to go. I headed back to the room, played on the net and ate my McDonald's cheeseburger. Happy. Until McDonald's decided that it too was against my stomach. Sad.

Unfortunately that night, I also found out that one of my cats, Rocky, had to be put to sleep. He was about 15 years old, I had rescued him while working at the SPCA-Los Angeles. When I moved home last year, I found a lump on him and we were able to have the cancer cut out a couple of times, but it was too extensive the third time and finally got him. Once again, a huge thank you to Chris and John for dealing with this in my absence. Especially Chris, it takes a hell of a person to agree to take on someone's terminal, furry child, knowing that his time will probably come while you're pet sitting. So, not a great night in Vienna, we'll
Rocky Raccoon!Rocky Raccoon!Rocky Raccoon!

1997 - 2009
see what tomorrow brings.



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Moi in Vienna hotel.Moi in Vienna hotel.
Moi in Vienna hotel.

This was a pretty normal, everyday shot of me. I was a thrilling roomie, wasn't I Natasha?


4th January 2010

You ran through the grocery store yelling "RIIIIIICOLAAAAAA"?
Man, not the best of days, for sure, but an interesting post none-the-less.

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0367s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb