Hotel Edelweiss and Itter


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Tyrol » Itter
August 22nd 2007
Published: August 31st 2007
Edit Blog Post

So, the next day, I realised I had so much preparation and sorting to do that I watched all the guests leave for their days hiking/cycling and found some time to chat to Peter about the rest of the week, and to try and get a hold on the activities that people had said they wanted to do... sorted out some signage in response!

Once this was sorted, I decided to go for a look round (central) Itter, which is comprised of a handful of hotels, an outdoor swimming pool/tennis courts, a beauty parlour, a bank, a small bakery (open 7-12; 3-6, I think), a church, a castle (not available to the public), and several houses. If you walk back down the hill you will reach a garden centre, if you keep walking out the other side I think you reach Hopfgarten.

Having sussed this out, I settled down to try and prepare for the evening meetings, with the incentive that if I was finished by 5, I would go for a bit of a swim! About 3-ish our first cyclists started to appear, looking rather pained (the route had not been straightforward/too long) - none were prepared to get the bikes back that afternoon (another 40 minutes ride)... gradually they all appeared, although unforunately one of the groups of walkers didn't appear until the starter was being served! I did get my swim, but the water was pretty cold... although if you stayed in there and moved around it was OK! Over the next couple of days we've been promised that the sun will heat it up! Another great meal and evening meeting, followed by the infamous Hotel Edelweiss quiz (it's been mentioned in one of the UK national newspapers!), which was really well thought out and enjoyable!


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

The Castle - symbol of ItterThe Castle - symbol of Itter
The Castle - symbol of Itter

Unfortunately now privately owned, and guarded by dogs!
The BakeryThe Bakery
The Bakery

Itter's only real shop (there's a couple of hotels, a garden centre and a cash machine in Itter)... open 7-12 (I think), then 3-6!


Tot: 0.43s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 27; qc: 92; dbt: 0.1925s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb