Final day in Austria


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Tyrol » Innsbruck
February 14th 2010
Published: March 1st 2010
Edit Blog Post

I caught the 10 AM train back to Innsbruck, arriving a little after noon and headed back to my Pension. There I met my nephew and we went out for lunch - as luck would have it my last meal in Innsbruck was where I ate my first meal in Innsbruck, only this time we were joined by post-church lunchers and Valentine Day celebrants.

The sun was out in full force so we drove up to the mountain town of Seefeld where we explored and enjoyed coffee and treats. Seefeld is a ski and spa town, very beautiful and picturesque. The spa looks particularly appealing, with the opportunity to lounge outside in a hot pool.

Anyway, an early night since I leave Austria tomorrow on a 6AM flight to start the next and final leg of my journey.

------------------------
For travellers:
Where to stay in Innsbruck: I stayed at the Pension Menghini. My room was a single, and very much like a college dorm room with ensuite. It was spotless, efficient and priced right. The accoustics in the building are such that you will hear other folks, but most are there for outdoor activities so lights are out early😊. All places I stayed on my entire trip included breakfast, which at the Menghini was traditional Austrian with coffee or tea, juice, cold cuts and cheeses, tomatoes, cucumbers, and a selection of yogurt, fruit, granolas and breads.

There are a number of 'boarding houses' which are actually studio apartments that you can rent for weekly stays or more. I am not sure how you contact these folks, but a google search should turn up something.

There is free public transport to all outdoor sites in Innsbruck if you are staying at the Menghini or any other pension or hotel in town. There is good comprehensive information available, including maps, at tourist info stops but also most accommodations.

Excellent train service connects you with just about anywhere from Italy to Hungary. Beside the train station there is internet for 2 euro an hour (same side as the station, heading down the incline). Laundry is expensive, but Bubblepop also has internet access while you wait for your things to dry.

Renting a vehicle would be worthwhile, but be aware that gas is very expensive, and you will also need to purchase access to the major highways if you plan on driving them. Driving is similar to North America in terms of side of road and regulations.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

??
?

I think these guys show up at the bars and are given drinks to stop playing the bells.....


Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0346s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb