Cloudy Innsbruck


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Tyrol » Innsbruck
May 22nd 2008
Published: May 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello one and all, moved over to Innsbruck on Tuesday. Great train ride, very comfortable 😊

Today is Thursday 22 May, just using a little spare time I have before I catch a bus to another attraction!

Arrived at my hotel and I told Amy that I am competing with her tiny room at the backpackers in Hamilton she uses when on her Vet Nursing block courses! The tiny room happened to be at the front of the hotel which in Aldstadt and the buildings are about 20m apart. I was on the 5th floor and didn't have a good sleep as voices travel up and echo into my room all night and I mean alllllll night! Just when night revellers had all gone home, I was woken at 5.30am by the "street" (really it is a cobbled alley!), filled with trucks unloading what appeared to be staging etc! Aaaargh, I could see a night with absolutely no sleep so asked to be moved...it happened....at a cost of course! Now I am at the back of the hotel and it is much quieter. However, for anyone thinking of travelling to Innsbruck, I would say stay elsewhere!!

So, I have climbed hills, been in museums, up to the 100m ski jump (what kind of crazy people do that jump?!), walked and walked the town, had lovely dinners out with just one glass of wine (grin). It is all very relaxing and I could quite get used to it. Although, to answer your question Robyn, I would prefer to travel with someone and have found it a bit lonely at times. Never mind, tomorrow I meet up with Maia and we have almost a week together...look out Switzerland!!

Today is a national holiday in Austria and guess what ...no shops open!! Cool, will save some money!! Watched a church procession with people in all kinds of dress ...including some men in shorts (lederhosen) and they frightened the life out of me by firing their guns in some kind of salute ....boys and their toys!

Out at dinner the other night and was astounded to find a couple come into the restaurant with their two dogs, yes, DOGS!! They sat on the window seat with their owners ....quite extraordinary! Food hygiene is not quite up to NZ standards either ...ice cream cones are handled by the seller prior to selling, people smoke all around food and I hate to think what goes on in the kitchens...try not to think about it too much!!

Today I am going to some kind of CrystalWorld, up a few mountains (no climbing Peter, going up the lazy way!)...hoping the clouds clear so that I will get some kind of view.

Sorry, no pictures today either as these hotels seem to shut down their system...don't trust the travellers not to stuff up their computer! I will try and get to an internet cafe in Lucerne which will be Saturday and Sunday (with Maia).

Love to all and catch you all again soon.


Advertisement



23rd May 2008

sun
hope you dont get anymore rain. Maybe the guarantee has expired on the sunshine. It did come from the $2 Shop
26th May 2008

Cheap Sunshine!
No, apparently the sunshine lives on ...we have fabulous weather since Friday :) Went up Mt Pilatus yesterday ...what an awesome place to visit. You would have loved it ...or have you already been? Arrived at Maia`s friend`s place today at St Gallen, NE part of Switzerland. Will go out with her tomorrow to take a look around here. Off to shower now as it will soon be dinner time. Hope all is going well in your neck of the woods ...see you soon. Tineke :)

Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0514s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb