Wonderful Salzburg


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Salzburg » Salzburg
May 18th 2008
Published: May 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Beautiful Schonnbrunn, ViennaBeautiful Schonnbrunn, ViennaBeautiful Schonnbrunn, Vienna

What a stunning place this is! Beautiful gardens, well it's more like a park actually...I spent a lot of time walking around, just wonderful.
Well, I am sitting in this internet cafe as it is raining today (Sunday)...how dare it! I still have my little sunshine travelling with me in my case, so what's up?!!

Left Vienna and found my intercity train easy peasy! My eurorail vouchers are for 1st class travel ...such style (grin). Just over a 2hr journey ..very smooth. Arrived Salzburg and my bus was waiting for me (just kidding, but there was one going just my way). Quite a way out of the centre of Salzburg, but it is stunning scenery where I am staying. Not sure about the photos as I had not planned to write a blog today and do not have my camera cord with me. I have a small single room but all it clean and satisfactory...although I seem attracted to church bells ...there is a church RIGHT and I mean RIGHT next door to my place!! Stops at 10pm (well, I don't hear it after that!!) and starts again at 6am (worse than a cockerel? maybe not!!).

That was Friday. Yesterday (Saturday) I spent all day walking, walking around Salzburg....what a beeeauuuutiful city! Very relaxed and friendly, lots of cafes, life is cruisy here,
Me Myself and IMe Myself and IMe Myself and I

Yes, it has to be done! Another photo of myself taken by me. This one is in Vienna at Schonbrunn
nothing too much trouble. Went to museums, up a furnicular to a fortress, parts of which date back to Roman times, frequented a couple of cafes. Difficult to find anywhere to eat/drink where a no smoking area is offered ...it seems EVERYONE smokes ...and it STINKS! Back to base for dinner again tonight ...am sampling the local fare although I believe the bratworst and other sausages are not homemade ...they smack very much of "Sizzlers", kind of! Never mind, the sauerkraut is great ...oh so much better than baked beans for ....your heart, if you know what I mean! Every time I eat something like that, I think of my Mummy 😊 Hello Mummy 😊 xx

As you can tell, today has started off with a stint at the internet cafe, but let's hope the weather fines up and I can do something a bit more interesting!! Have a mountain to scale yet ...on a cable car/gondola type thing which is right out the back of my accommodation ...it looks REALLY scary but I will do it ...really!

Over and out for now ....love to all


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Trams in ViennaTrams in Vienna
Trams in Vienna

Oh yes, youve got to watch out when crossing the road...they appear from nowhere! I used the underground so didn't actually ride on a tram.
Prater Wheel in ViennaPrater Wheel in Vienna
Prater Wheel in Vienna

Did not actually ride on this as I had just had dinner! but had to take a photo as it compared with the London Eye but is in fact the oldest of it's kind in Europe (I was told).
My Gasthof in Grodig, SalzburgMy Gasthof in Grodig, Salzburg
My Gasthof in Grodig, Salzburg

Yes, it's true ...a large proportion of the houses in parts of Austria I have seen do actually look like this ..so cute! This gasthof provides me with a smaller room and not of the same quality as the one in Vienna but this is reflected in the price! It is really nice though and I can also get dinner there in the evening ...so convenient.
View from the GasthofView from the Gasthof
View from the Gasthof

Well, it's the view from the back of my place...straight up a mountain. This is where the cable car/gondola goes up to the top. There is still snow in the crevices (?sp). Have not gone up yet as I made what appears now to be a bad decision (yes, I do make them, but only rarely ha ha). On Saturday, when it was sunny, I chose not to go. Oh dear.
View over Salzburg View over Salzburg
View over Salzburg

This is one of the views from the Festung Hohensalzburg and this one shows in the distance the snow-capped mountains. A bit hazy, but you can see them.
One mode of transport in SalzburgOne mode of transport in Salzburg
One mode of transport in Salzburg

Clip clop went the horses ...then poo poo went the horses ...phew! Shouldn\'t be allowed!
Sound of MusicSound of Music
Sound of Music

This hills are alive..apparently! This is the closest I will be getting the anything to to with The Sound of Music...it is a depiction at the Wax Museum ha ha!! So cheesy don't you think :)


20th May 2008

trams
For a minute Alex thought you were in Christchurch!. Hope the rain has stopped and you've been up the mountain in the cable car. It all looks lovely - when does your friend arrive?
21st May 2008

Christchurch / Salzburg??
Hi Carrie I meet up with Maia on Friday (23 May). One more day in Innsbruck and then I am on the move again...to Zurich this time. Lots to do and see...some kind of competition going on practically outside my hotel room so I moved to a room at the back of the hotel ...at a cost of course! Off to hunt down dinner now ...all this Austrian fare is delicious...have eaten a few too many cakes I fear!! Love Tineke xx

Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0555s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb