Salzburg


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Salzburg » Salzburg
July 13th 2005
Published: August 12th 2005
Edit Blog Post

We took the overnight train to Salzburg and the next morning we were in fairy tale land. Outside we had a beautiful view of a castle and just glorious scenery all around. Salzburg will forever be remembered as one of the most beautiful and cleanest places we have ever visited. To top off the experience of spectacular scenery we also had the BEST and I mean BEST BEER IN THE WORLD!!! People who know me know that I do not like beer but I have to admit that I know understand why people enjoy a good beer especially if served next to some authentic Austrian bratwurst.

On the advice of a friend I begged and I mean begged Michael to take me on the "Sound of Music" tour. Yes, folks it is as cheesy as it sounds, it literally means a bus full of adults singing to the tunes from the movie. While there were some stops that we did not care for (as in the gazebo where Liezel is dancing during the song 'I Am Sixteen Going On Seventeen', which by the way is now closed because some 80 year old woman broke a hip imitating the scene!) there were some spectacular spots we were taken to. We visited the village that Mozart was named after, St. Wolfgang, that boasted a spectacular lake.

Michael and I have decided that we need to plan another Salzburg trip which includes a week in this lake side community. We could make it a big family/friend vacation. In fact, for our daring friends (Crissy & Klaus) we found you a hotel on the top of the mountain by the lake that you can only reach by hiking! We would of course meet you only at the lake. Next stop was the church where the people in the movie got married, the only reason I bring this up is that we found the BEST APPLE STRUDEL in this little village. I know I am ranting about food but it was the BEST.

After a most enjoyable day, we had to pack and get ready for our next Austrian destination....Vienna.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0396s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb