Near Klagenfurt


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Carinthia » Klagenfurt
June 9th 2022
Published: June 9th 2022
Edit Blog Post

I have made a goal to have at least one Servas visit per country so that I can become acquainted with the real culture and not just the tourist attractions. I am staying in a lovely house near Klagenfurt, a house built after careers abroad, and in my mind the design and detail are perfect. It has me thinking about my house and perhaps a few tweaks I could do.

The views of the mountains are lovely from every window and balcony. I forgot how changeable mountain slopes can be as light changes throughout the day and evening, or when clouds and mist move by. When I arrived yesterday my hosts took me to a tower to get 360 degree view of the area.

The train journey here was delightful through mountains and valleys. Pure pleasure to watch the ever changing views while sipping a cappuccino and later having a red curry filled with vegetables cooked properly. I had intended to read a book but throughout the four and a half hour trip I was content to look out the window at the constantly changing scenes. I tried to take photos, but none of them actually captured the beauty.
View from look out towerView from look out towerView from look out tower

Klagenfurt is a town on on right side of this lake
It was a game trying to snap a photo of something before a tree, wall, tunnel or another passing train ended the scene. Vienna to Klagenfurt is the best train ride so far on this trip.


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Slide option Slide option
Slide option

You could descend by a slide like the ones that they have in water parks. I declined the offer. ha ha
Look out towerLook out tower
Look out tower

Made of wood
Info sign Info sign
Info sign

In middle of photo. I an not sure if you can zoom in and read it.
Vibrant bushesVibrant bushes
Vibrant bushes

I am surprised by how many flowers and bushes grow well here.
Klagenfurt Klagenfurt
Klagenfurt

Is there at the end of the lake
Beginning of train rideBeginning of train ride
Beginning of train ride

Leaving Vienna and the hills turned into mountains
Brown river water Brown river water
Brown river water

I have seen this in every country….must be the type of sediment
Train stopped Train stopped
Train stopped

At a place that began with “St V”, and I had time to zoom in
View a few minutes ago as it begins to rain View a few minutes ago as it begins to rain
View a few minutes ago as it begins to rain

The white flowers on bushes have lemony scent and can be picked to make a drink.
Local dish from CarinthiaLocal dish from Carinthia
Local dish from Carinthia

Large dumplings, one variety stuffed with potatoes and cheese and herbs, the other stuffed with some plant from the forest that has garlic flavour.
Pumpkin seed oilPumpkin seed oil
Pumpkin seed oil

Is used as a dip. Very nice dish with complex flavours. This regions history has influences from Slavic and Italian neighborhoods.
Good meal at local restaurant Good meal at local restaurant
Good meal at local restaurant

Pork, sauerkraut, and the largest ball of bread stuffing that I have eaten. Delicious.


Tot: 0.35s; Tpl: 0.024s; cc: 9; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0925s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb