Redrum..... Redrum


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Burgenland » Bad Sauerbrunn
August 4th 2011
Published: August 4th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I think I have just found Ireland's version of the Outlook Hotel in Ballina! Beautiful landscaped setting, multiple stairs and levels that have you walking up and down in no particular order and endless hallways leading to somewhere. But the best? The pink and white vertical striped wallpaper in the hallways! I found myself looking over my shoulder for Jack Nicholsons character on my exploration!

The hotel is great, don't get me wrong but let's just say I'll be back to my room before dark tonight:-) and my room has the coolest vertical super shallow cupboards; one labeled ironing board and the other coffee/tea. I just had to look! This use of space would make IKEA jealous can't wait to post photo once I get home! I love hotels with character; this one is also family owned and originally built in 1936.

I managed to get my first free wifi signal so typing on my iPhone so this will be (thankfully I can here you all muttering) short!

Had a great day exploring the Ulster American Folk Park for a couple hours. Trafalgar gets the park to open an hour early fie the group so we had it to ourselves. Then a drive via a lake district on route to Belleek, where they make the famous Parian China (who knew?). Was a cool tour and I wandered the city for a bit too.

Then onwards back to the Republic (just in time too as I was out of Pounds and in dire need of a coffee), with a pit stop to see Yeats grave and memorial.

Next city was Sligo with a walkabout (rain? We don't need no more stinkin rain!) and then finished our day here at Bellina.

I figure a glass of wine or two and I may get up the nerve to explore some of the darker corridors of the hotel, looking fir those list souls!

Ah, on that note, me thinks it is beer time!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.315s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0771s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb