Londonderry/Derry


Advertisement
Published: August 3rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Ah, gotta love the Libraries all around the world - they have internet. Sadly they have caught on to charging, but it beats (literally) standing in the hotel lobby blogging this morning at 07:00:-)

Spent the day exploring the Northern Most Tip of Ireland as well as the walled city of Londonderry/Derry. Always say both cities names for fear of exciting someones personal references. I'm learning you must be careful on anything you say.

This is a small country torn by their recent history, and whether you agree/disagree/don't know/don't care; the 'conflict' controls all motions of this area sadly. I've spent the day learnign more and more about it, and while since Good Friday they are on an improvement, there still is a lot of bitter history. The one consistant theme I'm hearing is everyone wants peace and respect for ones religions and beliefs yet they are still a way from that. It's almost an obsession here, and truly how can it not be when you listen to stories of barbie dolls literally getting blown out of one's hands due to bombings going on down the street.

I've decided to lighten up the group (who me? being the class clown - say it isn't so Plucky) and I've brought out Mr. Pickes. While I can't show all of you a photo of Mr. Pickles, suffice to say he is a small stuffed bull I picked up at the Lethbridge Gault Museum and figured he was rather appropriate. How he got named you ask? Let's just say there 'may' have been some drinking involved!

When I went to Peru the first time, I had Jill the duck and she became the centre of attention. "Ned, take a photo of Jill here!" became a common theme and while this silly rubber duck looked goofy, she was the ambassador of conversation. Hense Mr. Pickles. Truly I could care less aboutu a stuffed toy all over the place, but it is a great conversation starter. And Mr. Pickles came out today officially, and has had more suggestions for photos and had more taken since the start of the trip. I even have him sitting in the Mayor's Chair in City Hall:-)

I forgot to mention yesterday during Belfast's city tour we saw the shipyard where the Titanic was built. As the Northern Irish say here "She was fine when she left us!". They are building a new memorial/tourism site in honour of the 100th anniversary of her sinking and I must admit it is architecturally stunning! Can't wait to see the inside of it it will be spectacular.

The pace of the tour is really great. I knew this was a 'comfortable' pace tour, and while Lively can get a wee bit hectic, this is great. Breakfast is at 07:30, we leave at 08:30 but every day we've had 1 or 2 2-hour blocks of free time to explore each destination and I've thoroughly enjoyed that bit. I'm a walker and an explorer and w hile not everyone on the group is - I get a chance to wonder off on my own, sightsee and even blog! The hotels are great - the one we are in currently is called the Everglades and it is SOOOOOO nice - down pillows, beautiful setting on the river, ipod docking station. yup - loving it! Tonight one of our highlight dinners is in the hotel, looking forward to it.

Did the optional tour of the Inishowen Peninsula, a spectacular coastal drive up to the northern most tip of Ireland. Weird how we started in Northern Ireland and ended up in the Republic of Ireland. I've never paid that much attention prior, but the northern most part defaults back to Republic of Ireland. If you have a chance grab a map and check out the border, it's definitely odd.

Regardless, I love coast, I love scenery and I love outdoors. It was an incredible morning and I got some fantastic photos. And, wait for it, wait for it........ that orange burning ball of flames actually came out today! wootwoot! SUN SUN SUN! First time since we got here - even our local guide couldn't stop saying how amazed she was with the weather and had wished she brought her own camera to take photos. Can't complain - we've had a mixture of cloud, cloud and varying cloud since we got here. Can't imagine what this place is like in the rainy season!

Ah, beautiful countryside this is, and I'm enjoying every moment of it. Meeting some great people from Australia and the US mainly, and while the majority are definitely older than me, we're having a fun time. Last night I found the class clown from Australia (retired vet and policeman), funny how we sorted each other out. So the jokes and fun began and the whole group has definitely relaxed and we are having a lot more fun now. Usually takes a day or two, and while I may be used to groups of 15, this one is 33 and I'm still having a ball. Oldest is "Grandma" we've nicely named her - at 86! and she's here with her grandson.

OK, time is almost up. I'm going to walk across the brand new Peace Bridge, walk back, then walk along the main bridge to cross the river then head back to the hotel. Weather is nice, love the walking and soaking in the scenery. Londonderry/Derry is my favourite spot so far, it's small, quaint, walled city with some incredibly old buildings (which I love) and this new modern feel to it outside of the walls. People stare at us - they are not used ot tourists and while we stroll around in a gaggle they all smile and wave.

Cheers!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 35; dbt: 0.0323s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb