D is for Dolphins


Advertisement
Published: April 9th 2015
Edit Blog Post

I’ve always wanted to swim with dolphins. I’m a SCUBA diver and I’ve dived with all sorts of amazing underwater creatures, but never dolphins. They tend to stay towards the top of the water. I’ve seen several dolphins as they’ve followed my dive boat out to a site. I’ve watched on as they’ve preformed a private show for me off the coast of southernChile. Yet I’ve never swum with them.

InCubathis past summer, I had the chance to. In fact, it was meant to be one of my splurges on that trip. But after seeing the condition of the two places I was going to do it, I changed my mind. I didn’t want to spend money towards places that I was pretty sure were not treating their animals well.

Instead, I’d like to swim with them naturally, in the wild. Perhaps at the beginning or end of a dive, near the surface, they might find me. Or maybe on a sailing trip, I might stumble upon them and jump in to join them.



This is not something I am going to make happen like some other bucket list goals, but rather, I hope one day it will simple occur organically like so much of life tends to do.

Advertisement



10th April 2015

New Zealand is the place!
I had this same goal on my list for a long time and it finally came true when we traveled to NZ; there, in the Bay of Islands (North Island) we took a boat and went for a little cruise around the bay and when we saw a pod of dolphins we simply jumped in the (very cold) water and swan with them until they decided to leave. I didn't want to swim with dolphins in a closed pool, but wanted to let them come to us under their own conditions and it was one of the best moments of my life. I totally recommend NZ, not only because you have a big chance of achieving your goal, but it's also a beautiful country.
10th April 2015

It's great to know that this is actually a possibility. I am jealous of your experience for sure. How amazing. I will have to go to New Zealand sooner now! Thanks for the inspiration

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0364s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb