E is for Easter Island


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Easter Island
April 6th 2015
Published: April 10th 2015
Edit Blog Post

I lived inChilefor nearly two years, yet it’s not surprising that I never made it toEaster Island, orRapa Nui, as natives call it. That’s because it is 2,336 miles away from the mainland country. But it’s always been a dream of mine to visit.

I am fascinated by its stories and history and of course the moai, the giant face statues that seem to have been on the island since its beginning. I am also quite fond of the idea of an island in the middle of nowherhttps://wordsandothersuchthings12.wordpress.com/e. I find the isolation enchanting.

Now, as you may know, I have a rather strict rule about returning to countries I’ve already visited. There is just simply no way I can make it to all 196 countries in my lifetime if I spend time traveling to a country I’ve already been. Chile, however, is and will always be the one country I will allow myself to return to. (Stay tuned for V is for Vendemia, another bucket list goal of mine that takes place inChile.)

Having lived and lovedChilefor almost two years, it stole my heart. I have several amazing friends there and have already returned once since living there. I’m pretty sure I will always be returning toChilein one way or another. Add to that, the fact thatRapa Nuiis so remotely removed from the actual country ofChile, and therefore seems as though it is indeed another country, and I can very easily rationalize this trip.

It’s the cost of getting there that’s rather prohibitive. That’s why I envision doing this while I’m traveling around the world on Peace Boat (stay tuned for P is for Peace Boat.) There are a few voyages that sail toEaster Islandwhich would make it all very worthwhile and affordable.



I cannot wait to have my toes in the sand of this great and mystical island while moais look on and the sun sets into the ocean.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.233s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 57; dbt: 0.1013s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb